Reaching readers…not just writers

Okay, before you come at me with a pitchfork, a burning vat of tar, and a bag of feathers, hear me out. This was the condensed version of a comment made to me during a conversation about blogging. Essentially, they said people do not need to blog in order to reach readers because when you blog, you’re only talking to other writers. Huh? The comment flabbergasted me when the person said it.

Anyway, I kept my comments to myself but have been thinking about it since. I wonder if this person doesn’t realize that writers are some of the most voracious readers on the planet! At least the ones I talk to seem to be. I’ve ended up picking up some books on Amazon or Barns and Noble that I may not have sought out if another writer hadn’t mentioned them. Either because it’s something they read and loved or it’s their own book.

Source

I’ve always been a rabid reader (I accidentally typed rapid to start – which is true too) since as far back as I can remember. It seems I read more since I’ve become a serious writer with the intent to publish. I never thought that would be the outcome. It’s been a pleasant surprise.

I will admit, there are days the stress of coming up with an “interesting” blog post makes me want to pull my hair out. There have been times I’ve wondered if the time spent is really worth the outcome.

The answer to that question would be a resounding YES! The people I’ve met through either subscriptions to the blog or participating in various blog hops has been an amazing adventure. I would have never conversed with these people otherwise! While social media can be a total time and energy suck, there are benefits to it.

So, I feel that blogging works for me. It’s an outlet that allows me to write, but not concentrate on the WIP (which can be very beneficial for the creative part of my brain) and it allows me to connect with people around the world that I may never have had the opportunity to meet otherwise. Will it work for everyone? No. It’s up to the individual and how much time and energy they’re willing to invest in the venture.

Source

I have a feeling that same person will have more of the same comments in the future, but I’m happy with my decision.

So what do you think of that mentality?

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Reaching readers…not just writers

  1. I totally agree hon!!!!! I’ve met some fantastic and very supportive bloggers in recent months (present company included 🙂 ) and I’m so glad I decided to do this. Yes, like you say, it takes time to come up with posts, and it’s often hard work, but, hey, the benefits!

    I see blogging as a piece of the jigsaw of my writing life 🙂 Its fun, addictive, hard work, but Sooo rewarding 🙂

    Xx

  2. I agree. I take a book every place I go. Thinking. Thinking. Yep, every place but the shower. And into the pool. And the fact that I can read writer’s blogs makes it so I have an open window into places I never thought of before. It means that I have a ready-made list of books to read the size of K2. And it means that I can hone my craft by reading helpful information by the ton. Go BLOGGERS!

  3. The advantages a writer who blogs (and uses other social media) has over a non-blogging writer/social media user is the ability to build a community and grow an audience exponentially. 😉

Pen your thoughts...