To Publish or Not to Publish…

When is the right time?

This is a question that plagues most, if not all, indie authors. With a publisher, they set the schedule for you: editors, cover reveal, release, etc. and so on. For indie authors, self pubbers, it’s all on us. It’s ALL on us. Unless you’ve managed to get a kick-ass PA who does everything besides write the book for you.

I fell into that trap of listening to those around me saying that readers would NEVER wait for a book to be published. We had to give them what they wanted, than they wanted it, and sanity be damned. And I did that. And I felt like crap. And my books were crap. Okay, not total crap, but they were definitely not ready to be released into the wild in their state of readiness.

Am I afraid of losing readers? Absolutely. But I would rather lose them because I took too long rather than because I rushed and put out an inferior product. I don’t have a team to help me. I have a FANTASTIC P.A. who creates beautiful teasers and has begun doing my covers. She does it so I have more time to edit and write. For something that has been relegated to hobby status simply because the day job saps so much energy, I can’t see the financial sense in hiring someone to do things I’ve learned how to do. Can some do it better? Abso-freaking-lutely. I just can’t justify spending the money they’re asking when I can do it with a little bit of research and a little bit more time and patience.

This is one of those times where “To each his own” really does apply. I learned the hard way not to rush the work, especially without a village of trained people behind me. I may still be missing the net below the high wire, but I’ve learned how to balance enough to make it to the other side and leave the crowd asking for more.

What are your thoughts? How has rushing affected something you’ve done in the past?

-Melanie

 

Pen your thoughts...

