Summer Vacation – aka What do I do with myself?

Ahhhhhhh. Summer vacation. Something I’ve not had since I was a senior in high school. Something I have no clue what to do with! LOL Seriously, I’m a week in, have slept in almost every day and feel like I’ve accomplished next to nothing, even though I have. It’s an odd feeling. Even the few times I’ve been unemployed for any length of time, I didn’t feel this restless.

The initial thought was “Oh, I can catch up on my writing!” Had this break come during the previous job, it would have been no big deal. Now? I’ve been on my feet, active, walking 2.5 to 3.5 miles a day – just at the school – so sitting down to write is a HUGE task. I get maybe three paragraphs written and I have to stand up or move around. Good for the body, not so good for finishing a manuscript.

I know my teacher friends will laugh at this. The last month of school they all kept telling me to relax, don’t think about school, take a break.  I tried. I really did. It lasted 6 days. I was going to leave the school related stuff until July to think about but, yeah, that’s not gonna happen.

I think I’m going to have to make a list (or add to my three existing lists) of small things that I can mark off so I feel like I’ve accomplished something!

What do you during your summers?

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Summer Vacation – aka What do I do with myself?

  1. If you ask me – and you did – sleeping late IS an accomplishment. Be proud of the good work you put in during the school year, and enjoy your well-deserved rest.

    About a month before school let out I would start a list of things to take care of as soon as I turned in my door key. Then I would knock off as much as I could in the first two weeks. After that, lethargy took over, aggravated by the heat and humidity. Read some books you have always wanted to reread or tackle for the first time. I always loved to browse the new books shelves at the library and take home one or two. If you’re like me, you’re reading two or three books in shifts.

    Most of all, keep a record of your doings. But why am I telling you this? You’re probably doing this anyway.

    1. LOL. You know me well! Yes, I started the lists, have been slowly knocking things off of them and did pleasure read a book! I haven’t really had lethargy settle in quite yet, then again, I’ve been trying to space out my list so I didn’t fall into that trap.

Pen your thoughts...

