Update on Social Media burnout.

Well, I sort of accomplished it. My goal was to stay off of Facebook for an entire week. I couldn’t quite achieve that because one of my fellow street team authors has a new release (see the blog tomorrow for that!) and I had a message that had to be responded to.

I did spend significantly less time browsing Facebook this past week. What were the results? Here’s a list:

1) A little over 12,000 new words on a story I started during the April session of Camp NaNoWriMo.

2) More research on the historical novel.

3) Less anger and less time feeling like the world is going to hell in a hand basket.

4) Realizing that I really didn’t miss anything truly important because I still listened to the news on NPR and people who needed me quickly found other ways to contact me.

5) More quality writing time.

Not to mention time I had to do things around the house like clean and organize. My desk has never looked so clean plus I shampooed the carpet.

The main thing for me was how I felt. I wasn’t angry at all the hatred and, honestly, stupidity being bandied about on Facebook with the different issues affecting us lately. Yes, everyone is entitled to their opinion. Just as I’m entitled to think someone else’s opinion is stupid or irrelevant. The difference? I’m not going to get into a “fight” with anyone on social media.

I’ve felt so much calmer. So much more productive! As I’ve been researching more in depth for the historical, I’ve been able to not only concentrate on what I’m reading, but work through a potential plot changer. It’s something that I think will make the story even better.

They camp story is something so different from what I’ve been writing that sometimes it’s a tough mental switch. The new story is a YA/NA (young adult/new adult) in First Person. I usually write in Third so I’m having to force the brain to continually shift gears. I’m actually loving this story and am hoping that I can get it out there and have it make an impact. I’m not quite ready to share the overall plot because I’m only 34K words in. I’m waiting for the main character to tell me how far we’re going with her story.

Anyway, just wanted to give you an update on the social media experiment. Going to try and continue it this week and see just how much more I can get accomplished.

Have a great week everyone and don’t forget to stop by the blog tomorrow (7/15) to check out Wren’s new release!

Melanie

5 thoughts on “Update on Social Media burnout.

  1. A couple of years ago, I gave up Facebook for Lent. I almost hated to go back after that. In my case, I have family all over the country that I try and stay in touch with, because we don’t travel, but even so, it can be a cesspool…

Pen your thoughts...

