A to Z reflection and a few other things

I’m a bit late with the A to Z reflection post as I’d already booked others to appear on the blog. In truth, it worked out perfectly because I needed a break. The A to Z Challenge is NOT for the faint of heart.  To make it through the whole month takes planning, stamina, and time. I met some great new writers, discovered some interesting blogs, and got back to writing. I needed the break because I feel like I’ve been working on the same stories for years.

So while I posted about the reason why I love romance books, I was also writing a completely new story for Camp NaNoWriMo. I had a low word goal, only 15,000 but I met it AND got my manuscript edited and off to Beta Readers. Brain. Fried.

Which is probably why I am having a difficult time knuckling down and finishing these edits. And why I decided to sign up for the 30×30 Challenge by the David Suzuki Foundation. It’s a Canadian challenge, but they’re nice and letting anyone participate. The hashtag is #NatureIsCalling. Part of the challenge is to take a photograph of what you’re doing outside, but considering I sit in an office all day in front of a computer then go home and write, I sometimes use the 30 minutes outside to completely get away from technology and reset my brain. I listen to the wind blowing, the birds in the tree, even the hum of tires on concrete. Something other than the clicking of fingers on a keyboard.

After a month of writing and edits, I needed to get my hiney outside and off the couch. That’s a big reason why I planted tomatoes, cucumbers, and a slew of flowers. It forces me to back outside once I get home from the EDJ and continue to move around. Plus I get the benefit of home grown fruit and veggies 🙂 My strawberries aren’t faring too well. I’m having to fight off the birds for the very few fruit that have grown.

I had a release date in mind for the latest book, but it looks like I may have to push it back. I had a feeling that would be the case which is why I hadn’t announced a release date. I want this one to be as clean and polished as it possibly can be and I have a few things I want to do in the formatting that I haven’t tried before. In other words, I still have some work to do.

Hope those who participated in the A to Z Challenge survived. Have a great week!

Melanie

I need a little sunshine! How are you getting out and about in Nature this month? Leave a comment, tag me on Twitter or Instagram.

4 thoughts on “A to Z reflection and a few other things

  1. Nothing like getting outside to find some balance after sitting at a desk all day!!! That challenge sounds really interesting, do you have a link for it? I wrote a post last week asking for advice on other challenges/prompts as I’m finding I miss the “assignment” that came with the A-Z Challenge. I got TONS of feedback and advice!!

    Good luck with your garden and editing!!! 🙂

    P.S., I’m killing two birds with one stone. For a writer’s group I’m a part of I’m writing up a scene based on that character I was telling you about. I’ll email you the scene as well when I finish it (meeting tomorrow night so you’ll have it sometime in the next day or two). Sorry I’ve been slacking! 🙂

Pen your thoughts...

