A to Z Challenge – Y

Down to the last two posts. Next time I do this, I’m scheduling them all in March!

A2Z Y is for Youth. From Merriam Webster – n. (bef. 12c) the early period of existence, growth, or development. the quality or state of being youthful.

“What would you tell your younger self?” I can’t count how many times I’ve seen this question. We attribute youth with discovery and excitement and that first love. Here’s another one; “Youth is wasted on the young.” Here’s my take. Stop wishing for youth! Start living young!

(Okay, apparently this challenge has caused dear old Mel to crack.) No, I haven’t. Here’s another saying. “You’re only as old as you feel.” Stop right there. We’re not talking about body aches and pains. There are 20 year old athletes who probably ache more than I do. I’m talking about your outlook on life.  Sure, we’re spry and relatively carefree when we’re young. The world is open before us or looming large – depending on your outlook. Most of the romances I’ve read and written except for select few focus on couples new to ‘life’.

The more I hang out with other writers, the more I think we as writers are missing a key audience. I’ve read a few books where older couples find love after either losing their spouse or through divorce. Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove has great examples of this, as does Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon where the main characters are relearning to live as an early middle-aged couple. For me personally, I’m not there yet because I’m still having fun writing about  couples in their 20’s navigating the world and finding the right person for them. I guess, in a way, it gives me a chance to relive my youthful years without having to actually deal with them. I can mold them in a way that is pleasing and maybe get rid of some of the not so nice memories I have of those years.

My point is, youth, or a youthful existence, depends on the individual and can happen at any age. And on the pages of a romance. Sometimes, people need a gentle reminder that they can still have love and be young at heart no matter what their chronological age.

Melanie

 

 

 

Pen your thoughts...

