A to Z Challenge – S

Today’s prompt was provided by Mariah Kingsley and was just too interesting to pass up.

A2Z S is for soul-changing. From Merriam Webster. Soul – n. (bef 12c) the immaterial essence, animating principle, or actuating cause of an individual life.

I’m sure those of you who’ve been following my A to Z posts thought I’d surely go with sex.  Those of you who’ve read my books know my thoughts on romance are that they are based on so much more than sex. Romance is part of the journey. And it can be soul-changing.

When people talk about love, they talk about soul-mates. I think a soul-mate can also be a friend. Quite a few of us have that one friend that we knew the first instant we saw them that they would be our friend. For others, that happens when they meet the one they eventually fall in love with.

Anyone we open ourselves up to can be soul-changing – in both good and bad ways. In romance, authors mostly focus on the good although there are a few who have the other in there and it’s interesting to see how they weave it into the Happy Ever After.

In my stories, my characters soul changes  because the other person make them want to be better, or be a part of a larger entity. I believe that a true relationship is a partnership.Things may not always be 50/50 but at the end of the day, you’re pretty equal. When you let someone into your heart, let them see all those dark or scarred or afraid pieces of our soul, your soul will change depending on the other person.

Why do people read romance? Because there is so much hate and hurt and death in the world that sometimes the only way to get through the day is to carve out a piece of time to read a story with a guaranteed happy ending. An ending that my give the reader hope. It may even lighten their soul’s burdens enough to let them move through to the next phase of their lives. And that, dear readers, can be soul-changing.

Melanie

3 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – S

  1. Love the last paragraph here!! So true. I read all kinds of genres, and there are certainly times when life and work just gets to the point of overwhelming and stressful and I need a “feel good” something. Romance and/or fantasy certainly does the trick!! 🙂

  2. Great theme.
    I’ve just been back through all your A to Z posts so far and they’re excellent.
    Flutters. Genuine. Kink (I’d like to hear why you say that erotic and erotica stories are different). New. Possibility.
    These posts had some great points in them.
    I don’t believe I read romance because the world is ugly, but more like your explanation of New. I love the romance. The fighting. The push and pull. The surprise moments. They keep me going. They keep me reading.
    Great job! Keep it going!
    (My only suggestion is to pull your calendar up on your right side bar to make it easier to go back and read your posts.)
    Heather M. Gardner
    Co-host: Blogging from A to Z April Challenge
    Blog: The Waiting is the Hardest Part [http://hmgardner.blogspot.com/]

    1. For me, and I’ve had other authors describe it the same way, erotic is the feeling, the lead up to the sex. It’s a bit more steamy and more than likely it’s not a closed door bedroom scene. Erotica is the full on description of the act. The nitty gritty, no act left to the imagination.

      Thanks for the suggestion about the calendar. I’m redoing the blog and the calendar was on my list of things to either move or redo.

      I’m glad you like the posts and thanks for going back and reading them. 😀

Pen your thoughts...

