AtoZ Challenge – K

A2Z K Continuing on with the why people read romance theme.

is for kink. From Merriam-Webster: n. (1678) a mental or physical peculiarity: Eccentricity, Quirk. unconventional sexual taste or hehavior.

You know, I wasn’t originally going to go here, but with the popularity of erotic and erotica stories (yes, they are two different things) I decided to go ahead and include it.

This proclivity, predilection, preference, whatever you want to call it, has existed for millennia. Some people are a bit more adventurous behind closed doors than others. And that’s okay. People were afraid to talk about it or read about it because it was difficult to hide a paperback book. With the popularity of ebook readers, these books have found an audience. More people are comfortable writing them and reading them.

The range of subjects is vast and something I’m not going to go into detail about. Sure, some of the stories may be just about the physical encounter, but there can be romance in that. The set up, the intensity of feeling. It’s all in your perception of the word romance. But I would be remiss if I left out any aspect of the romance genre.

Who has shocked you when you realized they read erotica/erotic romance?

Melanie

I’m also participating in the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop from April 8-17. You can read that post here. Leave a comment for a chance to win one of my books!

8 thoughts on “AtoZ Challenge – K

  1. I’ve definitely explored more of the kinkier tales in recent years. However, I can’t say I’d lay that on eReaders’ door cause I’ve never been one to worry about what others think of my reading choices. I think, like a lot of other things, the ease of access in recent years has made a wider verity of stories available.

    1. Wider access is definitely a factor. But I also talked to people who’ve said they would have never read a romance if it weren’t for ereaders. I think it’s a case of multiple factors. 😉

  2. Erotic scenes, if done tastefully, can add to a romance novel. However, all too often the scenes is not well written, is in poor taste compared to the rest of the novel, or is thrown in just for the sake of having an erotic scene. I’ve read some 5 star novels recently which were ruined by sex scenes which were not at all erotic, bringing them down to a 2 star in my book and reflected in the reviews I post on Amazon, Good Reads, and my blog.

    1. Possibly both 😉 I didn’t read it until a few years ago, but even I have personal limits of stuff I won’t read. That’s just me. Really, I’m just happy people are reading!

        1. Besides my own?? lol That’s a tough one. Historical, Diana Gabaldon and Johanna Lindsey. Modern, I read Donna Weaver, Debbie Macomber, and Brenda Novak. I would consider those more on the conservative side. Diana does not fall into conservative, I would say it’s fictional reality, if that makes sense.

Pen your thoughts...

