AtoZ Challenge – I

A2Z I is for instinct. From Merriam-Webster: adj. (ca. 1667) impelled by an inner or animating or exciting agency.

Raise your hand if you’re guilty of ignoring that little voice in the back of your mind telling you to do something. I mean that little voice that has a difficult time being heard because of all of the noise around us and social constraints that tell us to ignore it. (i.e. telling a child to hug someone they’re inexorably frightened of). That voice that tells us, talk to him, don’t step out yet, wait just a second more.

That gnawing in our gut that tells us to do something and makes us feel even worse when we completely ignore it.  See, in a good portion of romance books, characters go with those instincts. They take the choice that their body/mind/soul/DNA is telling them is right even though every one around them is saying that it’s wrong.

Some of us never learned to trust our guts. I’m not one of those. I learned a very long time ago to never ignore what my gut and/or instinct tells me to do. It kept me from getting seriously injured in a car wreck, getting bitten by a Mojave Green rattlesnake, and it also led my directly to my husband. He doesn’t believe me when I say this, but the very first time I ever saw him, the voice in the back of my mind said “There’s your future husband.” And I promptly ignored it. He’s younger than I am but at the time seemed really young. Well, the universe, fate, a higher power, whatever you want to call it, kept pushing us together (we worked at the same store, so it probably would have happened anyway) but four months later we started dating and have been together ever since.

If I would have continued to ignore what instinct was pushing me toward, I would have never given him a chance. I know some of you are calling that simple chemistry. Maybe that’s part of it, but I can’t deny the other things that instinct has saved me from or pushed me toward. So many of us never let that part of us lead because ‘we’re humans and above our baser instincts’ (I don’t know who said that but they need to be smacked) but if we listen to our gut and instincts, I think it will help us connect to a deeper part of ourself that is ignored far too often.

Those couples who get into a strangers car because they feel immediately safe, those individuals taking a leap into a new relationship because something tells us it’s right. Those are the things that live in the pages of a romance book. They are also the things that happen around us every day.

Where has instinct taken you?

Melanie

I’m also participating in the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop from April 8-17. You can read that post here. Leave a comment for a chance to win one of my books!

3 thoughts on “AtoZ Challenge – I

Pen your thoughts...

