AtoZ Challenge – H

A2Z H is for happiness.  From Merriam-Webster: n. (15c) a state of well-being and contentment: JOY

Happiness. Re-read that definition before you go on. A state of well-being and contentment. In what I consider a true romance, this is that state couples reach. So many people think the relationships in a romance are unattainable; unrealistic. Some might be, but not all all.

(Funny side note, as I’m writing this post, Maroon 5’s Payphone comes on. One of the lines is “All those fairy tales are full of it, one more stupid love song I’ll be sick *Radio Edit*)

Thanks, Adam for the segue. So many cynics out there. So many who have never had the type of romance or relationship described in their favorite book or song.  Hope (this was suggested by Virginia Nelson) is another reason people read romance. They’re hoping for the happiness that comes with being with the right person. I’m not saying there won’t be tough times, but over all, when you think of that other person, the happy thoughts should outweigh the negative.

The HEA, happily ever after, something relegated to fairy tales and romance books. NOT. THE. CASE. HEA’s and happiness are something to want, something to strive toward. Life is too short to spend it miserable.

What other things make you happy? A sunset? The first flower of spring? A newborn babies smile?

Melanie

I’m also participating in the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop from April 8-17. You can read that post here. Leave a comment for a chance to win one of my books!

4 thoughts on “AtoZ Challenge – H

  1. I’m happy when nothing can get me down because my levels are too high. I’m not going to let anyone have power over me to the point my happiness is in their control. I’m going to be happy whether or not I’m romantically inclined, or if the sun is shining or not.

    1. I wonder if it’s reader expectation. In the true definition of the genre, there is a Happily Ever After. IF the couple is meant for each other, I would assume (and hope) that it comes from the characters being able to find happiness in their situation. True, authors do put their characters through some torment and emotional torture, but only as a means to get them past the dire/unhappy/unhealthy situation they’re in and move forward. I hope the reader would find some happiness because they can get away from their situation for just a while and realize that it may be possible to find happiness in their own lives.

Pen your thoughts...

