Authors In Bloom Blog Hop!!

DianneVenetta_AIB-Logo_2015-250x250Spring has sprung!! Dianne Venetta is once again sponsoring the Author In Bloom blog hop. Not sure what that is? The detailed explanation can be found here. Over 40 authors are participating. Free books, recipes and other information is up for grabs to readers participating in the posts.

In the spirit of Spring, I’m going to give you flowers, food, and reading! I’ll be offering an ebook of mine (Readers Choice!) at the end of the hop (Check out the descriptions here). Check back on April 19th for the winner and go to BloominThyme for the grand prize winner announcement. To win, visitors must hit each and every author on the hop.  Grand prize is an ereader of their choice (up to $200 value) with second prize a $25 gift card to the ebook retailer of their choice.

Wisteria w-WM

 

Paintbrushes w WM

I’ve also planted two cherry tomato plants again. I’m hoping they’re as prolific as they were last year. We ended up getting about 150 tomatoes off those two plants last year. I’m also going to try cucumbers again. I’m keeping my fingers crossed on that one.    
Now, for the recipe!

This is something that my mother used to make every year. Simply, just Strawberry Shortcake.

A pint or two of strawberries, depending on how many you’re making. Wash and cut the tops off the strawberries. Dice strawberries and lightly sprinkle with sugar, every layer in the bowl. The last few times I’ve made this I’ve significantly decreased the amount of sugar I use and, if anything, has made the flavor that much better. I use the pre-made shortcake cups. Me and anything angel food/cake/batter related do NOT get along. Except muffins. I heap on the strawberries and then heap on the whipped cream. This is personal preference. Some like the can because it makes that cool looking swirl. I like the tub whipped cream better because to me it tastes better.

This dish always reminds me of springtime and summer barbecues with friends and time spent with my mom in the kitchen.

What are your favorite spring-time recipes?

Don’t forget to visit the other authors on the hop. They’ll be posting from April 8th through the 17th.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Melanie

Winner for the ebook of their choice will be announced April 19th and picked by random from the comments left on this blog.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Authors In Bloom Blog Hop!!

  1. I love making angel food cake to top with fresh strawberries. I had no idea the yield off of just a couple plants, I should really do it this year

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  2. Nothing better than strawberries, love making shortcake, my husband finally says enough with the strawberries!
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  3. I’m a make the whipped cream from scratch gal. I don’t like all the extra ingredients in the canned or tub stuff. But yeah, strawberries, yum. They do equal spring don’t they?

    Good luck with the blog hop Mel.

      1. It’s easy. Heavy whipping cream, some vanilla, some powdered sugar, and a mixer. The trick is to use a cold bowl. I stick a metal bowl in the freezer 15 minutes before hand.

  4. yum… strawberries.

    Can’t believe you ended up with 150 tomatoes from two plants. That’s crazy!

    Thanks for participating in the blog hop!

    rbarckhaus (at) gmail (dot) com

  5. AHH! This is the second blog I’ve looked at today with strawberries on it. You guys are teasing me with thoughts of yummy, fresh strawberries! I totally get what you’re saying about can versus tub whipped cream, though. Besides, it may be prettier, but you’re making food to eat, not stare at. What I like best is to let sweetness come from strawberries, so a lack of extra sugar is needed and everything kind of balances itself out sweetness-wise.

    (email is ___@___.___.___ (fill in the blanks with smiles, alumni, cmu, edu))

    1. LOL. I may have to get store bought. The plants are not faring well this year. The less sugar method was so much better. Hubby and I just finished off the last from Sunday. Enjoy the blog hop! Thanks for stopping by.

Pen your thoughts...

