AtoZ Challenge – D

There is, and I think, always will be, condemnation toward authors who write romance and those who read it. I’m going to use my first A to Z Challenge to give those who may not already know, the reasons why romance stories are still so appealing.

Today’s word is contributed by Judy McDonough.

A2Z Dis for Devotion. From Merrium-Webster: Devotion n. (13c) The fact or state of being ardently dedicated and loyal.

See those two words? Dedicated and Loyal. Those two words are big for me. I don’t enjoy reading stories about cheating or the ‘secret’ love when the person should be working on the relationship they’re in. I saw a great meme floating around Facebook the other day. “The grass would be just as green on your side if you watered it.” Re-read that statement.

Devotion. In this age of instant gratification, so many people have lost the urge, or never learned how, to be devoted to one person.  We see stories about how a couple married 65 years and marvel at how devoted they were to each other, yet at the first sign of trouble, so many drop their significant other like a hot potato.

Devotion is work. Devotion is love. Devotion is forgiveness. It’s up to the person to decide if they think being devoted to one person is something they’re willing to work on. How does this apply to romance books?

Well, there are stories about that lost love. The person was, and still is, so devoted to one person that they find it impossible to love another. There’s the devoted friend. The one person you know you can count on no matter what happens. It can be the best friend whose seen you at your best and worst, a parent, a sibling, a co-worker. I think it’s safe to say most people have at least one person like this in their lives. Not only does that person become your touchstone, but they become such an integrated part of your life.

Devotion is work. Devotion is also rewarding.

Melanie

Find out what the A to Z Challenge is here.

3 thoughts on “AtoZ Challenge – D

  1. I have to admit, I don’t read much romance probably because I am too busy reading true crime books. Also, I’ve never really done too great in the romance department… I think I have some really unrealistic standards.

    I’m enjoying your blog and getting to know you better!

Pen your thoughts...

