A pantser writing within an outline…

…or “What the hell was I thinking?”

Yep, pantser here working on a NaNoWriMo novel with an outline. At the end of day 3 it is official. My characters have moved off script. I really thought they’d wait a little bit longer. So the lovely, handwritten outline on a poster size piece of graph paper is quickly becoming obsolete. I may have to move it into an excel document in order to make changes to it easier.

I swear! These people have a mind of their own. I was slowly leading up to the kiss, and here these Colonial era people are kissing by chapter six. What a hussy! Just kidding. Circumstance are changing for the better as I get to know Ellsbeth and Henry. Ooh. for those of you paying attention, that’s the first time I’ve mentioned the names of my characters. (I think it is. At this point, that’s what my brain remembers so we’ll roll with that.)

Things are getting a little dicey in 1779 Newport. British troops are on the move, townspeople are finding themselves torn between staying in a town they love and moving in order to survive, and a man and woman are faced with making decisions that will affect not only themselves but their family and their futures.

As of Day 3 I have almost 7000 words. That’s approximately a day ahead of schedule. I can’t give an exact count because I plan to get a few more written after scheduling this post and I don’t want to pad it just in case the words don’t flow.

This  is a story that has taken a life of it’s own. I already know how the story will be formatted, how the chapter headers will look, what fonts I want to use and a few extras I want to include in the book itself. It’s scary just how many ideas I’m being bombarded with. On top of that, this is my first attempt at a historical novel and there are a whole new set of hurdles involved with that.

That’s it for this update. I’m off to get a few more words down on the virtual screen.

Good luck to those participating this month.

Melanie

And for those of you in the U.S. If you haven’t already voted, please do so. All 435 House seats are up for vote. I’ll be doing my civic duty three times this month. Voting, and two turns at jury duty.

Pen your thoughts...

