NaNo Prep – Getting ready for Nov. 1st

It’s a late post for a Tuesday. As usual, I’ve been slacking on the blog front but that’s because I’ve been doing research. That’s right. Research. I have been plotting. *faints* Dust yourselves off. You read that right. This self-proclaimed pantser has plotted an entire novel. Beginning, end, middle, arcs, characters, and even a few deaths thrown in just to make it interesting.

Why the research and plotting? Well, I’ve decided to write my first historical romance novel. I’ve been giving little hints about it for a month. It was yet another idea that came to me while we were on vacation. The hubby and I visited Newport, Rhode Island. As I started looking up things to do while we were there, all of the Industrial Age stuff popped up. All of the mansions built by the magnates who industrialized our nation and brought our country in to the 20th century.

But as much as I thought I wanted to visit The Breakers and some of the other mansions, the Revolutionary War history stood out more. That could be because I was in the middle of reading the eighth book in the Outlander series, but I also think it was the fact that I really feel like I didn’t learn near enough about the forming of our nation in both school and college as I should have.

As we’re walking through the city, I’m amazed at how many structures there are in town from the 18th century. I’d seen quite a few in Boston, but they’re surrounded by highrises and gleaming modern structures and they tend to get a bit lost in the shuffle. In Newport, there are literally dozens of streets where it’s easy to feel like you’ve fallen back in time as you walk down the narrow tree lined rows.

I was hooked. I didn’t realize just how big a part the smallest state in the Union played during the War for Independence. As soon as we got home, I began researching not only the history of Rhode Island, but also military movements during that time. Surprisingly, those were a bit more difficult to find. So many people left Newport that there aren’t too many accounts of what happened in the town and not many military records that I’ve found as of yet that explain the British garrison stationed there for almost three years.

The more I researched, the more the story solidified in my mind. And before I knew it, the story was there, I had it plotted and I’m almost out of pages in my 70-page spiral notebook where I’ve had to engineer a pocket and figure out how to tape maps to the page where they’re fold-able and readable.

For the month of November, I’ll try to give you tidbits of the research I’ve found and maybe even a snippet of the chapter I’m working on. I haven’t done a November session of NaNoWriMo in a few years, so it may take a week to get into the groove of things.

I can’t wait to see what you all think and hope that my first historical is a hit with at least a few people.

Stay tuned for the madness that is NaNoWriMo. Donations of coffee and hot chocolate will be accepted with thanks 😉 If you know a writer participating in the challenge, encourage them and give them the time they need to get the story on the page. If they’re anything like me this time around, it will be difficult to step away from the computer.

Melanie

Happy writing!!!

Want to join the fun? Go to www.nanowrimo.org to sign up.

Pen your thoughts...

