40 bags in 40 days wrap up

 Decrapifying the house.

I’m a bit late with the wrap up, but here it is. I’ll admit, it looks a bit sparse, but there were days that I did two tasks. I’m pretty sure I did a few there at the end but forgot to write them down. I cleaned up my office at work but tried to keep items on the list house related.

 

DSC00199

So what made the 40 bags in 40 days special? It’s not so much the cleaning and decrapifying I achieved. It was about the alleviation of stress. After a year of working hard and fast on writing and publishing, I’d let some of the fine nuances of housecleaning fall by the wayside. Now after the 30 bags in 40 dayschallenge, I’m okay with only cleaning a small portion every day. I don’t stress about things not being clean because I know I’ll get to it as I work through the small things.

At the end of the 40 days, I donated two 33 gallon trash bags worth of clothes and got rid of approximately ten 13 gallon trash bags of trash. I reorganized my desk and bookshelf in the bedroom. Got my end of year writing paperwork filed. Freed up some kitchen counter space and got rid of some unused utensils and kitchen appliances. I even went through my sewing desk and storage container where all my thread and buttons live. I realized I have a “beige” problem.

I also started a weekly menu. I build the grocery list from the menu and my grocery bill is slowly decreasing as I get used to working off the menu. I’ve also visited the local farmer’s market. I plan to go there more often once more vendors start showing up. The tomatoes I bought there last twice as long as the ones I buy at the grocery store.

I’ve also started a tiny garden. Very tiny. I have one cucumber plant, one bell pepper, one tomato, and six strawberry plants. The strawberries are doing very well and we’ve gotten at least fifteen strawberries off the plants with the promise of many, many more.

Truthfully, I didn’t expect the alleviation of stress. That surprised me. And I’m enjoying it. I’m slowly reestablishing the balance between my job, my life and my writing. Something that was sorely missing last year. Something I desperately needed this year. With the alleviation of stress, the urge and desire to write has come back with a vengeance. I’m still working my way through the house. Slowly and brutally I’m evaluating what I really use and what needs to be changed to make mine and the hubby’s life move a little more seamlessly.

I’m a life-long pack rat so this has been a slow process for me. Getting rid of things that I’ve been toting around my entire life. Though the older I get, the less stuff I want around me. I think it’s more that I’ve reached a point in my life that there are things I’d rather do than dust knick knacks. That doesn’t mean I’m willing to give up my salt and pepper shaker collection any time soon, but the only collection I’ve been adding to are my book shelves.

 

20140427-154501.jpg

20140427-154537.jpg

20140427-154637.jpg

20140427-154649.jpg

3 thoughts on “40 bags in 40 days wrap up

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post. I, too, have reached an age where I want less dusting, and less distractions. Prior to the holidays last winter, I bagged up oodles of stuff and donated it away. You were right about it being a slow process. I probably donated a hundred spools of thread, ten bolts of fabric, a hundred cards of buttons, fifty zippers, and yet I still have enough sewing supplies to keep me sewing every day for the rest of my life, if I wanted to – and I don’t. I seldom sew anymore, because if I have spare time, I’m reading, and that’s after working my writing into the time I don’t consider spare, because it’s my writing time.
    I just joined your blog, and I’m glad to be your newest follower.
    Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

    1. Glad you’re here Debi! And I thought I had a lot of sewing notions!! Only reason I haven’t gotten rid of more is because my niece likes to come over and make things for her stuffed animals. I want to get rid of more but am not sure what else to get rid of. I’ve got totes in storage that probably need to be culled. That’s childhood stuff though and I don’t know if I’m quite ready to do that even though most stuff hasn’t seen the light of day in over 15 years.

      Thanks for finding me. I’m heading over to your blog now.

Pen your thoughts...

