Authors in Bloom blog hop

Well, spring has…retreated in South Texas.  And I’m a little worried. I planted a few vegetable plants thinking we were over the worst and along come two cold snaps. The first one I thought killed my tomato plant but it’s come back looking even better (thank goodness!). I’m just hoping that this recent cold front won’t kill the teeny, tiny cucumbers starting to emerge. Also, I have a few strawberries starting to get color but they’re not quite ready to be picked.

Authors_in_Bloom-300x250

I decided to participate in the Authors in Bloom blog hop partly because I liked the name and partly because I’m always looking for good gardening tips. What the purpose of this blog hop? To share gardening tips, recipes and of course, discover authors you may not have heard of before. 🙂 Believe it or not, most of us are human and our creative skills are not limited to writing. I know quite a few who craft, garden and draw or paint in addition to writing. It’s like we can’t help ourselves and we like to make something out of nothing.

There are quite a few others participating in this blog hop which runs from April 7th to the 16th. AND there’s a Kindle DX up for grabs too if you’re able to visit all of the authors participating in the hop. There will be giveaways, recipes, and helpful gardening tips. It’s a win-win situation!

Follow the link for the Rafflecopter giveaway.  Up for grabs is a copy of any of my When Love Trilogy books either ebook or print. Print copies will be mailed to US entrants only. Descriptions can be found on the Bookshelf tab.

There’s also a Facebook party happening on Dianne’s page if you’d like to visit. You can find it here. Don’t forget to show love to the authors participating by stopping by to say hello or share your own tips. Right now, I could use them. I didn’t plant enough cucumbers to make a batch of pickles but I’m hoping to get at least a few decent specimens for salads.

Here’s a current recipe the Hubby and I discovered. Simple and surprisingly filling.

Ham-zucchini wraps

Whole wheat tortillas

Deli ham

Ricotta cheese

2 zucchini, sliced julienne style. (I used the cheese grater)

Spread thin layer of cheese on the tortilla, then layer ham and zucchini. Roll and eat. Simple as that. I made two small tortillas for dinner and couldn’t even finish the second one. This also works great as a sandwich. I added a bit of pepper to the ricotta.

Have fun on the hop and I can’t wait to see what types of tips and recipes anyone has. And if you have suggestions about how to produce a fantastic cucumber crop, please leave it in the comments!

You can find the other authors here. I have to link you to Dianne’s post because the Linky list doesn’t want to work with WordPress.

Melanie

31 thoughts on “Authors in Bloom blog hop

  1. That sounds like a great wrap… Thank you for being part of the hop. My Mom just lets her cucumbers grow… watering them and making sure they are not over run by weeds but for the most part she just let them do their thing.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

    1. The wrap was really good. For now I’m just keeping it out of the way of the lawn guys. Tempted to stake it up so they don’t accidentally get chopped to shreds. Thanks for stopping by Jeanette.

  2. Good luck on the gardening! I gave up after a squirrel stole the only decent tomato!

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  3. Cucumbers like cooler weather, so hopefully your little seedlings are fine after the cold snap, especially if the tomato survived. I love to grow cucumbers. I have to start them early indoors, though, because they really don’t like New England summer sun. Hot, hot, hot! 🙂

    cchant86 @ yahoo.com

  4. Thank you for sharing your post with us! =) I wish I had something to share, but I don’t garden lol!

    Thank you for the awesome giveaway! I hope you have a great day! =)

    Brandi
    BLeigh1130 at yahoo dot com

  5. Thanks for the recipe. I would reciprocate but I’m not a very great cook. But I do have a tip for gardening. Make sure you get your ground ready for planting in the spring during the fall.
    greeniejoey at gmail dot com

    1. I bet! Hubby and I visited PA June 2010. One day was gorgeous, hiking in shorts then 2 days later we’re wearing jackets and pants. It hasn’t stayed cool this far into April in a while. Wondering what our summer is going to be like. Thanks Savannah!

  6. In the Rockies we don’t dare plant anything tender until after Mother’s Day–and that’s not always a guarantee. Even if it was beautiful and today will be beautiful too. So tempting!

    1. You definitely have a stunted growing season. But you also have distinctive seasons 😉 These late cold fronts we’ve been getting have messed up everyone’s planting this year.

  7. Do you have a trellis for the cukes to climb? They love to climb and then they don’t get gooshy sitting on the ground. I bet you could plant another batch. Of course, I’m not sure about growing seasons in Texas, but I’ know there are varieties that grow in hotter weather. Good luck.
    Hoping to win someone’s give away. I love your writing/blogging style. Probably because your voice sounds very like mine. 🙂

    npi-sunyer@comcast.net aka Nancy

    1. Thanks Nancy! I appreciate the compliment. A good deal of myself creeps into the books too 😉

      I don’t have a trellis, didn’t think it work work for cucumbers because if the weight. I’m thinking of adding another plant. The thought of pickles is just too tempting!

      Good luck! Hope you win.

        1. Now that’s an idea. My real limitation is that we live in an apartment complex, so I only have so many options. I’m also considering the second plant. This one looks like it will have about 10 cukes come off it. Luckily, management hasn’t said anything about the numerous plants I have out front. Especially when I tried to plant pumpkins and the vines ran all the way along the front of the building! Beautiful leaves, no produce 😦 Might try again this year.

  8. I didn’t get a garden in this year, mostly due to the hoped for move. I struggle with the different growing seasons here in the desert. However, our grapes are looking marvelous darling. Here’s hoping we get to eat some before the birds get to them, LOL

    Good luck with your blog hope, it sounds like a great one!

    1. Thanks Froggy! I can grow just about anything…unless flowers are involved, which is the case with most veggies. Hoping my little guys survive and flourish. Thanks for stopping by!

Pen your thoughts...

