Finding the Balance

Balance.  Yeah, I’ve never possessed it. I’m a klutz – I would probably fail a sobriety test stone cold sober. I’m not kidding. My mom always said I would grow out of my clumsiness and become a graceful adult. She lied!! My 6 broken toes, 2 broken fingers, several strained ligaments, and achy joints can attest to that.

Anyway, back to balance. I’m actually talking about balance with respect to learning when to let go of one thing and go to another. Last year, I definitely wasn’t in balance. I was focused completely on the writing. It drove my hubby crazy. And I totally apologize for that, babe. This year, I’m trying to be more forgiving to myself. I’m trying NOT to feel guilty if I don’t write every day. I tried the 100 words a day challenge and all it did was stress me out.

Now I’m working on finding the balance. Making sure I take care of me, take care of the hubby, take care of the house, and take care of my writing. While I’ve gotten quite a bit written, it’s not as much as I thought I would. I made the mistake of trying to compare this year to last year.  Last year was an anomaly I’m not sure I ever want to repeat.

I’ve felt guilty for neglecting the housework and have been slowly trying to catch up. Then I found this…

http://www.whitehouseblackshutters.com/40-bags-in-40-days-2014/

40BAGS14-4-700x700

I have found the balance! It focuses on cleaning one area a day. Not a room, an area. I’m on day 7 of the challenge and I can already see a difference. I’ve cleaned out my sewing table and the container that holds all my notions. I’ve cleaned out a few kitchen drawers and ended up opening a good portion of the counter in the process. I’ve started making weekly menus again. I cleaned out the apps on my phone.

And you know what? So far, these cleanings haven’t taken more than an hour – if I don’t dawdle. An hour!! Can you imagine how much crap I can get rid of in 40 days?? That’s a huge bonus. But I’ve discovered another bonus. When I sit down to write at the end of the day, there’s not that nagging guilt in the back of my mind that I really should be cleaning something. Because it’s already been done. Which has made my writing sessions a bit more productive. I might have less time in a day to write, but I’ve been able to get a good amount on the page. AND a new idea, plus a way to make my B&B books a bit more interesting. Though it may change from a 5 book series to less.

If you’re interested in the challenge, there are several ideas of areas to clean on the website and a blank calendar so the start date is flexible. So far, this thing is addictive. I’m curious to see just how much I can declutter taking it one area at a time. Now, if I could only get back to scheduling these posts in advance…

Have a great week everyone.

Melanie

9 thoughts on “Finding the Balance

  1. Yes, last year was an anomaly for me too, one I don’t plan on repeating. Last year was the year of writing and this year (at least the first half) is the year of releasing. Hubby is much happier with this philosphy. 😀

  2. Glad you’re finding your balance. One of my writing friends has written books on the Kaizen method, a Japanese system where you tackle a huge daunting project 10 minutes a day and I have been employing this for a while. I can almost see my entire dining room table. 🙂 But, I’m obsessed to write daily, so that will continue to take precedence. I can’t wait to hear how you’re revising your series. *hugs*

  3. That’s very much like the FlyLady…spend 15 minutes a day decluttering. Never take out more than you can clean/put away in an hour. I’ve been doing a similar thing as I purge and pack for a move 🙂 I’m sure you’ll be pleasantly surprised with everything you get done. Way to go Mel.

  4. I did that for a while last year, but I just cleaned one thing per day. A table top. A door. Whatever. It produced surprising results over time. I need to start that back up.

Pen your thoughts...

