DIgging my way back out.

After a month of self doubt beating me on the head until I considered giving up writing, I’m slowing starting to dig my way out of the self-pity and darkness. There were a few other things in between that helped lower my resistance, but that’s another story.

Anyway, I went to our monthly writer’s group meeting not anticipating much to happen. After discussion on various topics, I decided to read the few pages I’d written during the month. Something so completely different from what I normally write that I was nervous to even read it to them. Their reaction surprised me. The pages were well received, more so than I thought they would be. Now, where to go with it?

This is something I’ve been considering for a while. Writing something darker than my normal contemporary romances. I wrote a little on it Saturday night, but found myself writing a bit lighter, for lack of a better word. I went to it after the rewrite I’ve been working on. That’s definitely not going to work. I’m going to have to finish what I’m working on before I move to the other. Not only is it darker, but it’s also in first person, which I’ve never tried before.

source
source

I’m not so much afraid that no one will read it, I’m afraid if I go to dark, I won’t be able to find my way back. I’ve done a lot of burying deep and ignoring the bad things that have happened in my life. I don’t know how writing dark will effect me. I guess as long as I keep something light around me and in the works, I should be okay. Plus, I don’t think the hubby will let me get too deep into it. And I have a few co-workers who have no problem telling me when I need an attitude adjustment or a pick me up.

Once I figure out where the story is going and where it might fit, I will give little peeks of it. I’m curious to see how it’s going to be received by readers.

As for the sun, it’s a little scarce in So. Texas right now thanks to another cold front. Going to have to run the negative ionizer on the air purifier. Supposedly, they boost your mood. If our time in Niagara Falls was any indication, it’s true. I would go again just to sit  on Goat Island and listen to both American Falls and Horseshoe Falls (though American Falls was my favorite) or even go downriver to Fort Niagara and sit on the green or in the park and gaze out to Canada just across the river or across Lake Ontario at Toronto.

So, I’m off to start another week of writing and such. At least there’s been somewhat of an upside. I’ve gotten quite a bit of housecleaning done and I weeded my little patch of dirt in front of the apartment. Hopefully this cold front doesn’t kill the tulips I planted. It’s the first time I’ve tried tulips so I’ll be a bit bummed if they die already.

Have a great week everyone! Thanks to everyone who offered encouragement, virtual (and real) hugs, and links to things I could use.  It was very much appreciated.

Melanie

3 thoughts on “DIgging my way back out.

  1. Oo. Great post. I had to go back (mentally) to a dark place in my life to write a couple of scenes in my debut. It wasn’t easy, but I think it made my story better.

    I say, go for it. Just let a few close people know what you’re doing so they can keep an eye on you and pull you back if you get to close to the edge.

    IWSG #268 (until Alex culls the list again or I goof and get myself deleted. :P)

Pen your thoughts...

