A Day in the Life… #7

of a Writer getting ready for her largest event to date.

Oh. My. Gosh. I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve done one of these posts! Let’s just say I severely burned myself out last year and this year has been going by a little less stress-fully. One good thing about being self-published is I can move my deadlines around to fit my life and work schedule.

So about this event. Yeah. EVENT. It’s beyond my expectations already and it hasn’t even happened!

I’m talking about the Houston Authors Bash put on by Wines and Labels Productions. There’s interest from bloggers, local media, and sponsors. There will be 75 authors there. All published in some manner – traditional, self-pubbed, all of the above! One is even driving in from Kansas! I totally lucked out finding this. Another author, who had contacted our local writers guild when she was in town for a signing, had it posted on her Facebook page. So I read about it, asked the Hubby and contacted the organizer.

Nope, not shy most of the time. Can’t be if I want to get out there! Things are definitely moving forward. I still have stock from the last few events and I’m hoping to have people order books if I run out. Which would be freaking awesome! To run out means I sold everything. *sigh* It’s a dream that will one day be achievable.

Next Friday, the 28th, I’ll be over at Natasha Hanover’s blog talking about my experience.

Here’s what I’ve put together for this event that I’ve never done before:

A press release – there will be media there! Eeek!

An order form – As of last count, 450 had gotten tickets online for the event. If all of them show up and 1/5 of those even look at my books.  *faints*

Banners – I have banners! At the last event, the readers and people walking around gave me some great tips on how to make myself more visible. I took their suggestions and talked to a few other authors and decided to make banners. They’re small but they’ll hopefully get the attention of people walking by.

The Hubby! 🙂 He’s never stayed all day at these things. I’m hoping to put him to work making change for buyers because I’m too busy signing! lol  Not sure he’s looking forward to it but maybe he’ll get to see me at my authorly best.

I can only hope I’m ready for this event. I’m a little freaked, totally excited and can only hope I’m close to being ready. Hope to have lots of pictures to post for you. Stay tuned!

I’m off to print the last of my things.

Melanie

 

4 thoughts on “A Day in the Life… #7

    1. That would be fun! One of these days I’m going to make it to the one they do in Vegas every summer. I’m still trying to get hubby just to decide on a vacation this year. We didn’t go at all last year and I’m getting antsy!

Pen your thoughts...

