The week that shall not be named

Ah, l’amore. Amore, die Liebe, love.

petal heart
source

It’s that week of the year. The week where a good number men in the U.S. run around like chickens with their heads cut off hunting for the perfect gift and either spending way too much or chancing a dozen roses from some roadside vendor in a tent. Can you tell I’m not a big fan of Valentine’s Day? If you want to celebrate, please do, it’s just not something the hubby and I like to do.

I know some of you just raised your eyebrows and thought, wait, isn’t she a romance writer? I am! Thanks so much for noticing. 🙂 But for me, romance isn’t an expensive, candlelit dinner or glimmering diamonds set in sterling silver. It’s the journey which I sure hope lasts longer than one night a year! For me, I’d rather the hubby schedule a fancy dinner while we’re on vacation at someplace we wouldn’t normally go. Or something as simple as feeding the cats in the evening so they’re not slinking in and our of my legs as I’m trying to cook dinner.

What I want to know is how do you and your significant other celebrate your love? Is it a huge romantic gesture? Do you get roses delivered to work to make the other ladies jealous? Or do you eschew the day all together?

source
source

Let me know in the comments. Whatever or however you choose to celebrate, try to have a great week!

Melanie

6 thoughts on “The week that shall not be named

  1. Years ago, the Catholic Church, faced with three potential saints named Valentine and unable to prove that any of them really existed, decided to remove him from the roll of saints and make February 14 the feast of Sts. Cyril and Methodius, apostles to the Slavs. Seriously, Mary and I have never really gotten that hung up about the day, and we’ve been married 36 years now.

    Hope your week turns out well regardless, and Happy Sts. Cyril and Methodius Day!

  2. Well, I’m not quite as anti Valentine’s Day as all that. However, I’m with you on the small things throughout the year. I’d rather receive “just because” flowers on a random day or spent a quiet night with just the two of us. I will say, due to That Man’s job, we rarely SEE each other this time of the year so celebrating something frivolous like Valentine’s Day is moot, LOL.

    May your week, that shall not be named, be a fabulous one!

    1. It turned out pretty good. I probably should participate in all the book sales that happen during that time, you know, pimp my own book and all but it’s so hard to bring myself to it. *sigh. Some romance writer I am! LOL

Pen your thoughts...

