Missing the Point

You know how sometimes no matter how much you explain something, the person you’re talking to completely misses your point? You’re left wondering if they just don’t understand of did you not find the right words to convey your message?

This is where I find myself with the Rosewood Falls series. Yes, they’re simple. Yes, they’re predictable – to a degree. Yes, they’re short.

flower book 2The Best Man's Honor - RWF #1flower book 6flower book 3flower book 4 (1)flower book 5

Purposefully short. A lot of us, as readers, have books that emotionally drain us after we’ve finished reading them. Books that we’ve spent loads of time, energy, and feelings on. Several books over the years have had that effect on me.

source
source

The whole intention of the Rosewood Falls series was to give readers something short yet still emotionally satisfying without draining what little energy they had in between the tomes that wring the last bit of emotion and feeling from the reader. They’re intentionally simple. They’re intentionally short. And I’m really surprised that readers are missing that fact. I’ve been told they’re too predictable, too short (they’re meant to be!), and they’re not complicated enough.

The first review was a 2 star, for the reasons listed above. It really bothered me and I broke the cardinal rule of contacting the reviewer. That’s when I learned that the reader had higher expectations and I don’t know where the breakdown in communication happened. Did I not write a proper description? Did the reader not read the description close enough? I’m not sure. It was another lesson of writing what calls to me instead of what the reader might be expecting. I’m working my way through this publishing quagmire. Write to the market, I’ve been told. Find something other than romance to write – it’ll never make you rich.

Quite possibly. BUT. If I write to the market or something that isn’t my calling, the readers will know. They will definitely cry foul and have a valid reason to do so. Until then, I will write the stories that call to me and hope they eventually find the audience meant for them.

Keep an eye out next week. The sixth and final book in the Rosewood Falls series will be available and Flora’s and her friends’ journeys will come to an end.

Until then, keep them in mind if you need a quick, satisfying read that you know will have a happy ending. Have a great weekend everyone.

Melanie

4 thoughts on “Missing the Point

  1. I’m sure thats why my fellow Ripple Effect authors made sure to put “novella” in the series title. But you can’t force readers to read the back. But expectations are critical. I got zinged, essentially, because my publisher had to shorten the back book blurb for A Change of Plans, and it set up an expectation that the pirates play a bigger role than they do. When we changed the cover the original blurb was put back in. No guarantee anyone will read it all the way through, though.

    1. True. In the description, the first paragraph says whatever installment in the novella series. Ah well. I’m running with Raelyn’s idea of adding a sentence to the beginning of the description and also putting them in the short story category on Amazon. We’ll see what happens.

  2. Add “A short and sweet read for your lunch break” to the descriptions…?

    I always look at word or page count before making a e-book purchase because I’m not a novella reader. Once in awhile they fill a need but I read so fast that anything less than 50K (and that’s low-balling it) doesn’t really satisfy. It’s nothing against the smaller works, it is simply my reading appetite πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry there seems to be a misunderstanding with this series. It’s certainly worth a read.

    Happy New Year Mel!

    1. I may have to add that to the descriptions, I like how you worded that πŸ™‚ That’s why I tried to get to at least 20K words because anything less than that is just frustrating, even for me. Another thing to add to the list πŸ™‚ lol Happy New year to you too Raelyn.

Pen your thoughts...

