Take Me Home for Christmas – Book Review

Take Me Home for Christmas Cover

Christmas is a time for remembering…

Too bad not all memories are pleasant! Everyone in Whiskey Creek remembers Sophia DeBussi as the town’s Mean Girl. Especially Ted Dixon, whose love she once scorned.

But Sophia has paid the price for her youthful transgressions. The man she did marry was rich and powerful but abusive. So when he goes missing, she secretly hopes he’ll never come back—until she learns that he died running from an FBI probe of his investment firm. Not only has he left Sophia penniless, he’s left her to face all the townspeople he cheated.…

Sophia is reduced to looking for any kind of work to pay the bills and support her daughter. With no other options, she becomes housekeeper for none other than Ted, now a successful suspense writer. He can’t bring himself to turn his back on her, not at Christmas, but he refuses to get emotionally involved. He learned his lesson the last time.

Or will the season of love and forgiveness give them both another chance at happiness?

Review:

Well, I’ve done it again. I’ve picked up a book in a series without reading the previous books. Brenda Novak is another author I chanced upon on Facebook. But you know, the way Take Me Home for Christmas was written, I didn’t feel left out. Novak put enough information interspersed with Sophie’s story to let the reader know just how she fit in with the other residents of Whiskey Creek.

There were several moments where if I’d been reading a physical copy, I would have thrown it down because I got so angry with some of the characters. Couldn’t throw my phone though 😉  It was nice to see Sophie’s progression of realizing she’s strong and worthy of the love being offered. My only complaint? I felt the ending could have been a little longer. I would have enjoyed seeing the antagonist really getting more of his comeuppance than what Novak wrote. Guess that’s just me being vindictive 🙂

Definitely worth the read.

Purchase: Amazon

BrendaIMG_3632

Website: Brenda Novak

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author of TAKE ME HOME FOR CHRISTMAS and THROUGH THE SMOKE

Follow me on Twitter

Like me on Facebook

Friend me on Goodreads

(photos courtesy of Brenda Novak’s website)

2 thoughts on “Take Me Home for Christmas – Book Review

  1. You had the same comment I did! My review went up today. After all that build up and the growth in Sophia and her finally coming together with Ted, I really wanted more of their togetherness! Also, I tend to appreciate a bit more time in the bedroom with these sorts of novels and there just wasn’t enough here…

Pen your thoughts...

