When humor makes you think

I’ve been remiss about posting regularly lately. Partly because these novella releases are kicking my butt and partly because work has been insane – lots of changes on that front. My creativity levels have been steadily dropping.

(From the 2011 Tony’s)

The hubby and I and another couple went to The Book of Mormon at the Majestic Theater. First off, this was my first visit to The Majestic and can I just say Holy Crap that place is gorgeous! Built in the late 1920’s, its been recently remodeled through I don’t think they messed with the original wood work.

20130926-155419.jpg
Ceiling wood work

20130926-155453.jpg
Stage at The Majestic Theater
20130926-155514.jpg
I’m not a theatrical person so I don’t know if this is Stage Right or Stage Left. It was on the right side as you face the stage 🙂
20130926-155538.jpg
View of the top of the stage

Second. The Book of Mormon written by South Park creators Matt Stone and Trey Parker and Robert Lopez who wrote the music and lyrics for Avenue Q  is one of those plays that has generated a ton of buzz. It won nine of the 14 Tony awards it was nominated for its first year (2011) on Broadway.

The hubby is a HUGE fan of South Park. He’s been watching it since the beginning. Or pretty close. I will admit, it took a while for South Park to grow on me, but now I enjoy watching the episodes too when they air. Hence the main reason we went to see the play.

Anyway, we bought tickets, went and ate dinner, then waited for the play to begin. The audience was pretty diverse and I wondered just how many knew what they were getting into. Any one whose seen an episode of South Park knows what I mean. Cue the first half and we meet the missionaries preparing to be sent on mission from the Salt Lake City training center. The elders receive their assignments with one being sorely disappointed by not only his assignment but also his partner.

People have written that this play is strictly making fun of the LDS religion and Mormons in general. After seeing the play, I don’t think those people “got” the play. Would I recommend my LDS friends to see it? Yes and no. Most of them adhere to their beliefs and don’t go to R-rated films and there are definitely some R-rated parts. A few people in the row in front of us left at intermission and never came back. The reason I would recommend it is because of the overall story presented.

I would highly recommend it to others because of the heart of the show. There were some dark moments. Dealing with grief, the harshest parts of reality, dealing with unfamiliar feelings, and the loss of faith. They’re presented in song but its done in a way that I think makes the audience think about the content long after they’ve left the theater. I haven’t been able to get the songs out of my head and its been a week since seeing the play.

(Also from the 2011 Tony’s)

At its heart, The Book of Mormon is about growing up, learning what your beliefs are, and sticking to those beliefs.  Life can be difficult. Elder Price has always had an easy time. Once in Uganda, he learns that he really doesn’t know how to reach the villagers. The blinders have been removed and he now has a fuller vision of life and the trials and challenges facing others. He doubts himself, God’s plan for him, and his own belief system. How many people deal with this on a daily basis? How many turn to religion to get through the trials and heart aches of every day life? How many people turn away because of those same things?

It was a powerful show and I was happy to see 99% of the people in the theater on their feet applauding the performers at the end. It was a wonderful musical and I would go back to see it. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the Donnie Osmond reference. Why is this funny? Because when I was eight, my aunt took me on a tour of the old Donnie and Marie studio in Orem, Utah and parts of the first half of the play really reminded me of that and my LDS friends. They really are a likeable, friendly group!

Here’s an episode of Theater Talk with the creators Matt Stone, Trey Parker, and Robert Lopez.

Have a great weekend.

Melanie

