But…that’s my idea!

My idea. My idea for a five books series. Its been stolen. Okay, not really. But that was my initial gut reaction when I saw the new Rose Harbor series by Debbie Macomber.  I bought the book because I’ve liked other stories by Macomber but I also wanted to see how she handled this setting. I spent the first two chapters analyzing then got sucked into the story and finished the remaining chapters in one morning.

Then the doubt set in. Here’s the running monologue in my head:

Damn, she stole my idea!

No, she didn’t steal it, it wasn’t exactly original to begin with.

Ugh, there’s no way I could do as good of a job. People will think I’m copying her.

What was I thinking? There’s no way. I mean, our main hero and heroine have the same jobs!

Oh quit whining already. Didn’t you read somewhere that there are really only six major storylines and they’ve ALL been done already? How are you going to make yours different?

And that’s when the ideas started flowing of how to make mine different. Will it be better? Maybe. Maybe not. But it will be different.  I was in the shower when my mind took off. (this happens so often I’m tempted to put a whiteboard in there). It got to the point that I had to stop and think if I’d remembered to wash my face. I really want to read the next book in Macomber’s series but I really wanted to get started on mine. I even went to purchase it, but the second one is only available in hardback right now and I want the paperback version.

Its going to take a lot of work. I’m pretty sure I’ll set it in a fictional town. I can use the surrounding landscape while still having license to create my own town.

While I plan to take some time off at the beginning of the year, I have a feeling I may start working on drawing my B&B and the town. Now, I just need to figure out where to set it.

Here’s where my readers can help.  Is there a town you’ve been or lived where you’ve wanted to see a story set? Either a favorite vacation spot or your own home town? Give me ideas tow work with 🙂 Leave your suggestions in the comments.  I’m curious to see what you all come up with.

Melanie

13 thoughts on “But…that’s my idea!

    1. I’m sure its happened to all of us, we just don’t realize it yet. I definitely haven’t given up. Ideas for the story are still coming to me so obviously it wants to be written! Thanks Vikki. I’m still waiting for something of yours…lol

  1. I haven’t seen many town suggestions. You know I’m just a southern girl, so I’d love to visit the Appalachians. Maybe S. Carolina. I had a wonderful friend that recently passed away. She would tell fantastic stories about growing up poor near Pensacola, but on the Alabama side. After her mother died, they took her handicapped sister to Florida because she would recieve better care as a ward of that state. During summers, when her dad would take off to work odd jobs, she would go to Pensacola to work in taverns and hotels and visit with her sister. She thought it was a hoot that these foriegn sailors would come in and after a couple drinks ask her to marry them. She must have gotten 30 perposals by the time she was 18.

  2. Just write it. When you start fleshing it out, it will become truly yours. Years ago, two friends and I were sprinting online. We were kind of blah, so I suggested we write sidewise for a sprint or two to perk up our brains. I came up with 5 story starters and one of the women and I picked the same one. Her story is now A Smoky Mountain Christmas by Carol Devaney and mine is A Twist of Fate…by meeeee. 🙂 Worlds apart.
    JD Faver

    1. Very true! I’m sure that will be the case once I start writing it. Plus, there are already a few differences on how it all starts so I’m sure I’ll be good. Just getting over that initial insecure moment. Thanks JD

  3. I’ll have to get back to you on the town setting. At this hour I’m drawing a blank, LOL.

    Even if you and Macomber wrote the same story, set in the same town and B&B, with the same characters, with the same plot…they would be completely different stories. You each bring something different to the table. Don’t worry about it and I can’t wait to read it 🙂

    1. I know. Just me having an “oh crap!” moment. Thought my readers would get a kick out of it. As with Rosewood Falls, I pretty much have the covers in my mind already. Yay for random vacation pictures 🙂 LOL

Pen your thoughts...

