Bridal Gowns – What color do you prefer?

The hubby and I went to a wedding this past weekend. It was a lot of fun and we’re very happy for the newly married couple. The bride looked stunning as did the bridal party and the decorations.

Of course, my little writerly brain sat there in the background processing everything. A friend asked me if I came home with any ideas for a story. I’m sure something will pop up eventually.

Lately, it seems the focus on a lot of wedding days is the bride’s dress.Β  And it got me thinking about when the white wedding gown tradition started (as a trend, the mid 1800’s), when did virginity begin being associated with a white dress (in the mid 1900’s to my surprise) and what were the other trends popping up.

Celebrities tend to be seen as thinking outside the fashion box, so to speak, but they’re really just going back to the way dresses used to be – full of color! Here’s a few for your perusal.

https://i0.wp.com/www.bridalwave.tv/gwen3-thumb.jpg
source
https://i2.wp.com/raredelights.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Jessica-Biel-Wore-a-Pink-Wedding-Dress-At-The-Wedding-with-Justin-Timberlake-3.jpg
source

 

 

source

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While searching for dresses, I found this interesting site about the history of dresses, these from Britain. http://www.dressfinder.com/history-wedding-dresses/

I also found this site about the history of white wedding dresses. http://www.fromtimespast.com/wedding.htm

I really liked this article because of the myriad of paintings done of Queen Victoria’s wedding dress. First of all, the amount of work that must have gone into this dress!! I can sew, but I’m not very patient and I know there are tons of things that I don’t know, but I muddle through and do what I can.

Now I know some of you are wondering (maybe, maybe not lol) what type of dress I wore. Well, It was a tannish shade with light mauve and green flowers with a pink knit cover that tied in the front. The only think white that days was my shoes. In January. I’ve never been one to follow fashion trends. πŸ˜€

No, I’m not uploading a picture. I think I know what box it’s in, but I don’t feel like digging it out πŸ˜› You’ll just have to use your imagination.

So I have questions for you. Did you go traditional? Was the gown white, ivory or champagne? Were you a rebel like me and totally eschewed convention? If you’re not married yet, what gown do you have in mind?

Melanie

8 thoughts on “Bridal Gowns – What color do you prefer?

  1. My daughter was in a design contest and was creating a wedding dress based on Ballet Folklorico style; cotton material, long full skirt and bright ribbons. The Indian culture also has beautiful, colorful wedding dresses and sarees (saris?). Since weddings are a joyous occasion, I think bright colors would be fitting!

    1. I fell in love with a big poofy ball gown but just couldn’t bring myself to buy it. I wish we’d had some of the trappings, but glad we didn’t spend a lot of money on it. But it’s a choice. I bet your gown was gorgeous Shelli πŸ™‚

  2. Personally I think bridal gowns have gone from a beautiful dress to something of a costume. To veil or not to veil….

    1. In some cases, that’s very true. I’m disappointed that the wedding seems to have become all about the bride and not about the joining of two families and their commitment to each other.

      Thousands of dollars on something you’ll never wear again. It’s a shame really.

Pen your thoughts...

