Author Interview – Sasha Summers

Medusa Birthday Bash Banner - final(1)

Make sure you read all of Sasha’s answers because, you know, there might be a giveaway involved. 😀 Today is a two-parter. An interview and a book review, which you can find here.

I’m am excited to introduce Sasha Summers, writer extraordinaire and someone I have had the pleasure of hanging out with. So glad you’re stopping here at FP, TD to talk to my readers. I’ll let you get to it Sasha!

I’m thrilled to be here and will do my best to be interesting and scintillating. 🙂 *crossing fingers* Bring on the questions…

We’re celebrating Medusa’s first birthday/anniversary of publishing! Congrats! How does it feel?

SS: AMAZING! Honestly, it’s still kind of mind-blowing. Sometimes I feel like such a nube, other times I feel like I’ve been doing it forever. 🙂 It’s also super humbling. Whether the reviews are good or bad, to have someone read my story – WOW!

How does you make time to write while caring for family and working a full time job?

SS: It’s a struggle, I’m not going to lie. I don’t get as much writing time as I’d like to, but I try to plug in and write whenever I have ten minutes or more. And… my kids are having to learn to do things like laundry, helping pack their lunch, you know – pitch in around the house a bit. I’m not sure they’re all that thrilled, but I’m pretty sure it won’t hurt them.

What would you tell aspiring writers?

SS: NEVER give up. Learn when to take criticism and when to ignore it. Write the story in your heart. Never stop learning. Connect with fellow authors whenever you can. Remember your readers are the ones whose opinions matter. AND Writing is a BUSINESS – so be careful.

Have you ever plotted a book and had the characters totally take over and spin the story in a different direction? If so, which book was that and how did it all turn out?

SS: Um… yes… The one I’m working on right now. I’ll let you know. LOL!

What is her favorite fangirl moment when meeting another author?

SS: Stephanie Dray is one of my all time favorite authors. We connected online before we met in person and I was so excited that I printed the email and posted it on my wall.

Now tell me the best fangirl moment that has occurred with you as the author?

SS: I’ve had some awesome interactions on Twitter. But I also love reading reviews that say I made them cry. I know, that’s not exactly cool… but…

You currently have two series out, each in different Genre, Medusa, A Love Story being part of the Loves of Olympus series which is PNR and the Red Carpet Series which is a Contemporary Romance (which by the way, I love also). Which Genre do you prefer or find it easier to write?

SS: I can’t pick one, sorry. I love each book and am very proud of them. However, the contemporary series is ‘easier’ – since I don’t have to do as much research.

Who was your favorite character in Medusa, A Love Story  and why?

SS: I have to pick? I love Medusa… she’s so true, so loyal and willing to do her duty. I love Ariston because, well – he’s kind of awesome on every level. And I love to hate Poseidon – he’s sooo good at being bad… I’ll stop there.

For your new fans, For the Love of Hades is the second book in the Loves of Olympus, how was that different to write than Medusa, A Love Story?

SS: For the Love of Hades is quite a bit steamier and happier than Medusa. They’re the same world, with overlapping characters, but they have very unique themes.

Can you tell us who’s story is next in the Loves of Olympus series?  What can we expect? Oh and is there a release date?

SS: Apollo is next – a lesser known myth that I’m having a wonderful time re-spinning. Then Ares & Aphrodite. And, finally (I think), Poseidon will get his. No release dates yet – but I’ll let you know.

THANK YOU so much for having me today!  Meeting wonderful authors (like you Melanie) and making fantastic new friends has been one of the greatest highlights of the past year. 🙂

Thanks Sasha! The feeling is mutual. I have to confess. I met Sasha at my first conference and she did everything she could to make me feel comfortable. I will always be grateful for your kindness that day, Sasha. 😀

Oh yeah! I promised giveaway info.

These are the fabulous items up for grabs.
These are the fabulous items up for grabs.
  • Autographed copy of “Medusa, A Love Story (Loves of Olympus Series, Bk #1)”
  • Autographed copy of “For the Love of Hades (Loves of Olympus Series, Bk #2)”
  • Thea (owl) Necklace
  • “Medusa” car charm
  • Series Swag

The Rafflecopter doesn’t play well with WordPress, so here is the link in order to enter the drawing for one of the prizes above. Remember, the more stops on the tour you visit, the better your chances of winning!

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/YjRjMDAwMWQ0YTk5ZGQyZmI1YmFhOThlNDc4OWIwOjE5/

Interested in reading more reviews and interviews with Sasha? Tour dates can be found here: 

http://www.enchantressofbooksblogtours.com/p/sasha-summerss-medusas-birthday-bash.html

4 thoughts on “Author Interview – Sasha Summers

Pen your thoughts...

