Camp update

Hello fellow campers! It’s been crazy here at the cabin.  Everyone ready to get their swimsuits wet when a crazy rainstorm and cold front blew in. Yes, you read that correctly. A cold front. Went for a walk around the lake and it was 48 degrees outside. Good thing I’m used to planning for a variety of weather conditions.

Anyway, on the writing front, I’m dividing my time. Yes, I’m being a Camp rebel. Oh, I still plan to make my 40,000 word goal. I WILL NOT FAIL. Nope. If I have to mainline caffeine and chocolate the last week to make it, then that’s what I’ll do. This week I’ve been working on edits for the last book in the trilogy. It’s been uploaded for review for the print copies. Once that’s done, I can get some physical copies ordered and shipped. Then, I can concentrate on writing new words and get the third section of my novella series complete before the end of the month. Heck, I might even be able to start the fourth one! How awesome would that be?

Hiking Trail
Hiking Trail
Flowers starting to bloom
Flowers starting to bloom

DSCN1027

Anyway, I’m enjoying the camp experience. So many campers have already met their goals and some are in the same boat as me. A little behind but determined to push forward. See, when I first decided to participate in a NaNoWriMo event, I thought it would be a good way to find out if I was cut out to work on a strict deadline. I figured, if I couldn’t write 50,000 words – craptastic or Nobel Prize worthy – then I couldn’t get edits done for an editor or publisher.

Since I’ve gone the route of self-publishing, That philosophy holds true, if not more so. The only one holding me to my deadlines are me. And now, a few readers. I actually got my first message from a reader, someone I’ve never met and don’t know, who is waiting impatiently for my next book. If that’s not enough of a motivation, I don’t know what is. 😀

For all you Campers, keep rowing. The other side of the lake is in view. It may seem distant, but it’s there on the horizon. Our arms are getting fatigued and noodley, but the reward will be worth the effort. Splash a little lake water on your face and row on.

Do we need to start a round? Yep, I’m gonna do it.

Row, row, row your boat

Gently down the stream

Row, row, row your boat

Merrily, merrily, merrily

Gently down the stream

Row, row, row your boat

Life is but a dream

Merrily, merrily, merrily

Gently down the stream

Life is but a dream

Merrily, merrily, merrily

Life is but a dream

GREAT JOB CAMPERS!!! (This earworm brought to you by FP, TD)

Have a great weekend everyone! Here’s to the final 10 days of camp. We can make it!

Melanie

7 thoughts on “Camp update

Pen your thoughts...

