A Day in the Life #5

Of a writer barely treading water…

Yep, I’ve gone and done it again. Over scheduled myself. Though partially, it’s not my fault. I should know better than to think the beginning of the year at work will be anything resembling calm and orderly.

Here’s what I did to myself for April:

Sign up for Camp NaNoWriMo with a goal of 40,000 words. Cool because this  year they offered flexible word count goals.

Finish first novella sections 2 and 3

Edit When Love Prospers

Format When Love Prospers

Book review for a blog tour

Set up release day blitz blog tour for WLP

Set up my first book signing (in May, but we’re getting word out there now to maybe generate interest)

And that’s just on the writing front. That doesn’t include the normal daily stuff that needs doing and then the 40 hours a week at work. I have to train a new person and we’ve got two other new hires, but luckily, I only have to do the paperwork for those two.

I knew this year would be crazy. With the ambitious start of releasing three books in five months, I was pretty much feeling burn out by mid February. But it was part of my business plan. Get as much work out there as I could so people would start finding me in their searches for something to read.

Which is how the novella series idea got started. The only saving grace with the novellas was that they came to me almost fully formed. Sure, a few surprising twists and turns have popped up, but that’s what’s made it interesting. I finished the first draft of the 2nd installment Saturday and promptly started on the 3rd. I love that these characters are talking to me. I wrote a little over 6000 words Saturday, a new one-day record for me.

And that’s why I sign up for these NaNo sessions. Nothing pushes me to strive for more like NaNo. More words, more stories and it has helped ingrain the writing habit deeper into my psyche. I couldn’t spend much time on writing during the week because of the whole spending my free time at the vet and helping Murphy get settled. And I was a grouch because of it. I initially thought it was simply because I was worried about my fur baby. That was part of it, but not the entire reason.

Over the past year, I’ve finally understood what living for you art means. It’s become a burning passion and even when I’m dealing with the business side of formatting, marketing and getting my books out there, the burning desire to write is still there, clawing to get out of my soul. Even after a day of writing where I should feel utterly exhausted and only 4 hours sleep), I’m sitting here at 4:3o in the morning posting and trying to figure out if I want to work on the 3rd segment of the novella. Weird, I know.

But after the week I’ve had, I’m willing to roll with it because I feel normal again. The creativity came back in full force and I want to take advantage of it.

What has woken you up in the middle of the night, forcing you to finish?

Have a great week!

Melanie

Pen your thoughts...

