Spicy obsession

I told you guys a few weeks ago that I was going to let you see the real me. Well, after a Facebook discussion with Lindsay Avalon, I decided to let you in on one of my favorite obsessions hobbies. Salt and pepper shakers. (I swear I just heard my hubby groan from here)

20130405-210336.jpg
Just a portion of my collection. My father-in-law helped me make this shelf.

Let me give you a little background. About 20 years ago, my mother quit her job after an on the job injury. My father was driving long haul truck and she started going on trips with him. Even in a sleeper cab, there’s only so much room. She wanted to bring me something from all the states she’d visited. She decided on the Salt and Pepper shakers fit nicely in a cramped space and at the time, was something a little different.

20130405-210315.jpg
I normally think pigs are cute…just not these. Sorry Mom :/

I don’t think the designers were concerned with making them look good. A few of the ones she brought back are a little, well, ugly. But it was the thought that counted.

The sets sat in a box for many years. I don’t know why, but after my husband and I got together, I decided to add to the collection. Slowly, I’ve added…and added…and added.  And my friends have enabled helped add to my collection . I’m always curious to see what they’ve find!

20130405-210325.jpg
Found in North Carolina, 2004

The hubby thinks these are ugly, but I happen to like them. I found these at an antique shop in North Carolina in 2004 while on a family vacation. Supposedly, the rocks are from one of the local streams and were glued on then brought to the shop. Is it true? Who knows. But it’s a good story.

Oh, and if you want to know, I think I’m up to 78 or 80 sets. I’ve truthfully lost count. My latest addition was a pair picked up on our trip to Canada last fall.

What’s your favorite souvenir? Is it something you show others or something just for you?

20130405-210302.jpg
How stinkin’ cute are these? Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada 2012
9 thoughts on “Spicy obsession

  1. I’ve collected so many different things at different times of my life. I have spoons, shot glasses, tea pots, and santas. Though I consider the tea pots and santas my active collections 🙂 Fun post Mel!

    1. We started with coffee cups but those take too much room. Gave up on the shot glasses. LOL. Now it’s the zipper pulls and S&P shakers. And t-shirts. It’s very difficult for me not to buy a t-shirt when we go somewhere new. 🙂

  2. My daughter and I collect key chains. We pick them up in museum gift shops, national parks, and airports. My father-in-law built a display case for all of them. It’s a good way to mark our travels.

    1. That’s a neat idea too. I also try to find the little zipper pulls. Used to keep them on my flash drive so I could find it easier but I had too many of the little pulls 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Elizabeth.

Pen your thoughts...

