Camp NaNoWriMo!!

Woo Hoo!! It’s the fifth day of Camp and I tell you, I’ve got a great bunch of gals in my cabin! We were able to choose one with a lake view and it’s fantastic for writing inspiration.

The gurus at the Office of Letters and Light have changed up the format for this years first Camp session. Flexible word counts!! You can set your goals anywhere from 10,000 words to 999,999 words. And anything goes! Poems, stories, novels, memoirs, what have you! Can you tell I’m excited?

I’m working on my novella series set in the fictional town of Rosewood Falls, Utah. Set in the Wasatch Mountain Range, it’s the interweaving story of six friends gathered for a wedding. Waterfalls, mountain cabins and quiet walks in the forest help the ladies navigate the trails of love.

The challenge? Well, I decided to write them all separately, happening all during the same time frame. *headdesk* Yeah, it’s interesting trying to leave gaps for the other characters so I’m not subjecting my readers to the same conversation seen from six different points of view.

The good thing about Rosewood Falls is that they entire outline of the story came to me all at once, covers and all. Even some of the women’s names came to me in that outline. I’ve never had anything like this happen and they’ve all been impatiently waiting for me to get on with it. So, let me briefly introduce you.

Flora is our bride. Her friends Lily, Heather, Iris, Daisy and Aster will all be meeting in Rosewood Falls to celebrate. Lily and Heather are in the wedding. They’re two of Flora’s oldest friends. Iris is trying her best to make sure Flora’s wedding goes off perfectly – her Southern upbringing will allow no less. Daisy is a co-worker and her daughter is the flower girl. Aster is a friend from college whose recent breakup almost keeps her from attending. What’s Flora’s story? Well, you’ll just have to wait and see 😉

No generic ingredients for THIS celebration.

So, I’m off to hunt down more S’mores and firewood. Catch you all later!!

promo card

Here’s the promo card we’ve worked up for the series. Just to give you a little taste of what’s to come.

Melanie

8 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo!!

    1. Sorry Deniz! I’m having a rough Camp session too. Having big ups and downs. No OT for me but plenty of stress including interviews, bleh. Here’s wishing virtual chocolate your way. All the energy and feel good without any of the calories 😀

Pen your thoughts...

