Blog Hop! from Backstage Pass

Perfect timing!! First, thanks to Matt Syverson over at Backstage Pass for thinking about me for this blog hop. Matt is a member of our local writer’s group and has been a fantastic source of support and knowledge. He’s self-published three books.  Go check him out!

Here are the questions from the blog hop.

What is the working title of your next book? When Love Waits. It’s the first book in a trilogy set in Northern California.

Where did the idea come from for the book? It was a tough time in my life and I just started writing. I wanted something with a happy ending. I’d lived in Northern California for a while and think its a nice place to live. As I wrote, the setting of the Sierra Nevada mountains and San Francisco seemed appropriate.

What genre does your book fall under?  Contemporary Romance.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition? This question always pops up. I think I’m one of few writers who actually don’t think about movie stars who would portray my characters when I write! 🙂 There are so many talented actors out there, I think it would be the one who could best portray the characters and be physically close in description.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?  Circumstances force Emma Alexander to deal with her fears in order to find love.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I will be self-publishing this book. It’s a lot of hard work, but I think it will be worth it in the end.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?  14 years. Yep, you read that correctly. The story has changed significantly since that first draft.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? It would compare to most of the shorter Harlequin and Silhouette Contemporary Romances.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? My mother. She always encouraged me to read. I started writing the story about two months after she passed away. I think it took me so long to finish the first draft because I felt like I was losing her all over if I finished the book.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Let’s see. There’s a strong friendship between Emma and her best friend Cailyn. There’s animosity between Jack and Kyle, which ends up with a rather fiery scene between Emma and Kyle. There’s a job promotion, a major move and of course, that declaration of love and a happy ending.

Hmm, now who out there needs a helping hand? Since these things come around so often, I’m going to let my followers/readers decide if they want to participate. All I ask is that you link back to FP,TD if you do.

Melanie

2 thoughts on “Blog Hop! from Backstage Pass

Pen your thoughts...

