The Next Big Thing

First, I want to thank S. D. Bancroft for thinking of me for this particular mini blog hop. I had the pleasure of being a beta reader for her book Autumn Nights; it’s worth the time to read. 🙂  Second, being the rebel I am, I’m going to let YOU choose whether or not you want to participate. Why? Well, a) rebel, b) most of the authors I would want to tag for this already have been.

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:


1) What is your working title of your book? Bradley’s Letters. The more I think on it, the more I think it will change. I just don’t know what to yet.


2) Where did the idea come from for the book? A vacation to Gettysburg, Pennsylvania back in 2o1o. A friend had gone there the previous October and when she relayed her adventures to me, I knew I had to go. I started writing the book while there on vacation. Probably explains how I took over 1600 digital photos on that trip. You read that right. I didn’t put too many zeros.


3) What genre does your book fall under? Contemporary romance. For those who don’t know, contemporary romance covers any book set after World War II, 1945 to now. Mine is set in current time.


4) Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? That’s tough to say. I actually don’t use actors to give me a visual. I guess for Alec, someone that’s a cross between Sam Worthington

source

 

 

and James McAvoy.source

For Elena, maybe Emmy Rossum.source

 


5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Will Elena and Alec allow the information they have found about the Underground Railroad
tear apart their families, their community and their hearts? Okay, it’s a question but I didn’t want to give away too much.


6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Currently, it’s being looked at by an editor. If they pass, I’ll decide whether or not to shop it around or self-publish. I’m leaning toward self-publishing as I really like the cover ideas my designer is coming up with.


7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? About two and a half years but only because I have a bad habit of jumping from project to project. It started as an assignment for one of my college classes, got put aside for my final project which became a trilogy that I worked on this last year. Now I’ve gone back to it because a trip to Niagara Falls actually helped finalize a few things in the story for me.


8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? It’s not quite in the genre, but to me it feels similar to a Tracy Chevalier story. Or I guess, that’s just what I’m hoping for. I can never answer these questions in a helpful manner. (sorry readers). Let’s just say it’s the type of book I would want to read. 😉


9) Who or what inspired you to write this book? The older I get, the more I love history. After visiting Pennsylvania, (and Boston the year before that) I started becoming more interested in Revolutionary and Civil War history. I’m not one to sit and analyze strategy, but I’m learning a little here and there and I’m becoming interested. Reading the last few Diana Gabaldon books has helped with this too and the movie The Patriot. On a side note, the hubby is an avid gamer and I’m excited to watch him play the latest Assassin’s Creed when it comes out because it’s set during the American Revolution.


10) What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Well, there’s an arranged marriage, two people learning how to find while love while dealing with the struggles of discovering what is important to them. For those who enjoy a little history with their romance, there’s a few little peeks into how slaves found safe houses while traveling on the Underground Railroad and little side trips to Gettysburg.

Regardless of how this story gets published, I’ll let everyone know. And probably some of those who don’t want to know.  I’m really excited to get this story out there. It’s been a long time in the making and I’m very proud of this one.

If you choose to participate, please leave your blog address in the comments so everyone can go check out your Next Big Thing.

 

Have a great weekend!

Melanie

8 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

Pen your thoughts...

