New Shiny :D

Ah, new shinies. A new toy to take our focus away from all the things we should be doing. Laundry, housework, exercising. I’ve somehow kept away from my new shiny until I was completely done with the edit/completion of a requested manuscript. It was difficult, let me tell you. That glaring little icon staring at me every time I booted up the lap top. But I resisted.

The reward was worth the wait. I finally took the plunge and downloaded Scrivener. And bought the Scrivener for Dummies just in case my little brain couldn’t figure something out. A fellow writer and my cousin have touted this time for months and I had two 50% off codes from the Camp NaNoWriMo summer sessions. Between that and a gift card, I did pretty well.

Anyway. Saturday was the first day for really playing with it. As I become less afraid of the edit option in the various pull down menus, I’m beginning to see the time suck benefits of using the software. I’ve got a completed draft that needs help. I’m not really sure where or how to fix it quite yet, so it became my Scrivener test subject. I’ve broken down the manuscript into chapters and scenes. After playing with the color coding so I knew which scene was in what character’s point of view, a few tiny problems have become obvious. Which is good. I can zero in on them without sifting through pages and pages of Word document.

Scrivener

Okay, those of you who know me or have been reading the blog for a while know I’m a TOTAL pantser. As I get a little more comfortable with the software, I’m starting to like the note card feature. I’m not posting pictures of my playing yet because everything is still very rough. 🙂  From what I can tell, I can add notes about my scene to the overall note card without changing screen views. Those notes then show up on the corkboard and I can make notes on the overall chapter note card from the scene cards. Considering that I sometimes get lost and confused because I don’t use outlines, I think this thing just might work for me.

I’ll continue playing with and see just how much of a difference it makes on the edit I’m doing. I’m curious to see what happens.

For those who’ve used Scrivener, what little tricks have you picked up? What’s your favorite feature?

Melanie

5 thoughts on “New Shiny :D

  1. I have downloaded it for the trial during NaNo and hadn’t used it for fear of slowing the momentum while my brain takes a detour. Gah! Now, I may just have to try it out. Curse you, MM, and your attraction to shinies.
    *hugs*
    ~J

  2. Ha! You know I’m in the middle of a love affair with this software.

    I think one of my favorite features is the fact I can change the Labels and Status headings to what I need along with the color-coding. Oh and the Keywords. I love being able to jump around if something isn’t working for me. I love being able to move sections around easily. I can capture the scene that sparked the story and build out from there. The search feature is awesome too.

    But I think the thing I love the most is that everything is in one place. I no longer have research stuff in OneNote while writing in Word. I no longer have a bazillion Word docs for one MS (in an attempt not to over edit during the first draft I was working in a new doc each day, which was a major pain to pull together later).

    Heck, what DON’T I like! I took the class, which I loved, but I want to get the book too so I have a hard copy I can thumb through…and fill with post-it notes, LOL.

Pen your thoughts...

