Monthly Goal Update – October

1) Lose 20% of my starting weight by the end of the year. Yeah, this one has been a failure. To a point. I haven’t lost anymore since May. On the upside, I haven’t gained anymore. I’m maintaining. Truthfully, I haven’t done a monthly update in a while because I did feel like such a failure on this note. There are still two months left in the year. We’ll see what happens.

2) Read 100 Books. I’m at 62. Don’t think I’m going to reach the 100 goal, but I’m proud of the diversity of material I’ve read. I’ve got two books I’m reading currently that I hope to finish by the end of the year.

3) Schedule all blog posts. How this go depends on the week. The end of September and beginning of October went rather well because I had a lot going on. I need to get back to writing these on Sundays, that seemed to work best for me.

4) Finish editing When Love Waits. DONE!! Wow, what’s been going on with this one. During the summer, I decided I was going to self-publish this book. Did two rounds of edits at the beginning of the year. Sent it to a beta reader who caught a few more things I needed to address. Then I finished the follow up novel during the June Camp Session of NaNoWriMo.  Then while asking for help with titles, a few people asked if this was going to be part of a trilogy. The seed was planted and during the August Camp Session, I finished the first draft of the trilogy. A co-worker helped develop, okay, she ran with my initial idea, and designed three covers for me for e-book and print release. Fast forward to the second weekend of October. The Lone Star Conference and I decided about three minutes before walking into an editor pitch appointment, that I’m going to pitch this novel. She was interested and right now, this one is waiting in an inbox to see if the publisher is interested. If not, I’ll probably still self-publish it.

5) Finish first draft of my 2011 NaNo novel. DONE!!  Feverishly working on edits now because I decided to pitch this one also at the Lone Star conference and a different editor requested this manuscript. As you can see by #4 & #5, these last two weeks have been insane! And exciting and nerve wracking. Keeping my fingers crossed.

6) Edit Renaissance Wench and re-query. Put off until next year. See above for schedule 🙂

7) Keep up with housecleaning regularly. Not too bad here. Kittehs keep me on my toes. If I don’t take the receipts off the table, they end up in the hallway with teethmarks.

8) Exercise daily. *sigh* Summer kills me around South Texas. I’m fine with heat, but I absolutely hate the humidity. I know, it’s a year-round thing. I may have to go back to walking during lunch at work to get at least 30 minutes during the day. Something’s got to give on  this though. Hubby says he wants to someday hike the volcanoes in Hawai’i. Might need a little bit of stamina for that.

9) Write 100 words a day. I still sit down to the computer everyday to write. During edits, it’s difficult to track the actual words. As much as I would love to start a new project in order to get those words down on the page, I made a pledge to myself to completely finish editing the manuscripts I have finished. Which is why I’m not participating in NaNoWriMo this month. It’s absolutely killing me, but considering I finished both Camp session, I think I’ve done pretty good this year.

Hopefully in November, I’ll have more information on either a self-publication date or whether or not I’m doing revisions for an editor :D.  Have a great weekend.
Melanie

 

 

8 thoughts on “Monthly Goal Update – October

  1. You are doing fantastic!

    I probably won’t hit my 100 books this year either, I haven’t even been tracking it very well :slaps wrist: And I hear you on the scheduling! :note to self write tomorrow’s post: 😆 I’m in the same boat of being committed to edits/rewrites but missing NaNo ain’t killin’ me 😀

    Fabulous progress Mel…keep it up!

Pen your thoughts...

