Another spot of inspiration

The hubby and I just got back from an impromptu trip to Niagara Falls. We planned the trip in three weeks and had a fantastic time. The sound of the falls was surprisingly soothing. We could hear it from just about everywhere in town and on the Canadian side of the river too.

So where did the inspiration come from? Seeing plaques around town about how Niagara Falls was a major crossing point for the Underground Railroad during the Civil War and even before. Harriet Tubman apparently made several trips through the area. I started this story almost two years ago now for one of my college classes. I’ve been wondering how to finish it. It’s set in Central Pennsylvania and has some aspects of the Underground Railroad in it. I took a notebook with me in order to work on it because I usually don’t take the laptop with me when we go on vacation.

I got quite a few pages written over the last four days and now feel very good about the direction the story is headed. I won’t be able to finish this book until sometime next year, but I now look forward to fixing the story and getting it completely finished. It’s my first attempt at something with historical elements. I was nervous about this one, but now that I’ve seen how I can tie things together, I’m ready to get to it.

Amazing how a change a scenery can sometimes get the creative juices flowing again.

What do you do when you get stuck? If I ever figure out how, this is the kind of simple set up I want as a writing desk.

20120930-225351.jpg

One thought on “Another spot of inspiration

Pen your thoughts...

