A day in the life…#2

of a writer struggling to find balance.

Or. I decided to grow pumpkins.

Yes, you read that correctly. I decided to grow pumpkins. For the last year, I’ve been so focused on writing, that I let some of the little things in life be ignored. Meaning my tiny little garden has suffered. Flowers do not fare well with me to begin with and lately it’s been even worse. Every fall, I enjoy baking pumpkin bread and pumpkin rolls. I no longer use canned pumpkin. For almost ten years now, I buy a pumpkin, scoop the seeds and roast them, then bake the pumpkin. The meat is divided up for future batches of bread and rolls and frozen for use throughout the year. It’s about a four hour process, but the difference in taste is well worth the effort.

As I walked through the garden center of the local Wal-Mart, I looked at the seed packets. Yeah, I don’t know what I’m doing when it comes to growing a garden, but I attempted it anyway. I’m a little nervous because I’m about six weeks into this and there’s not a pumpkin-ling in site. I’m not going to get discouraged because there are still at least five weeks to go before they should be ready to harvest.

It’s a dual purpose kind of thing. Okay, maybe triple purpose. It gets me out of the house for a while. I’ll (hopefully) have fresh, home-grown pumpkins to use for my baking this year. And it lets me get out of my own head for a while and I’ve come back to the WIP a little clearer.

If they do in fact produce, I’ll post a few pics of the vines and their offerings toward the end. Should be last week of October or first week of November.

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “A day in the life…#2

  1. OH, good luck! My best garden was an accidental watermelon plant that grew on a side we were prepping for a perennial garden. It grew the BEST watermelons ever. Huge buggers. I’ve never been able to grown them like that on purpose.

    Hmmm . . . is that a reflection of my writing?

Pen your thoughts...

