Somehow, I made it work…

I finished the August session of Camp NaNoWriMo with 50,146 words. Whew! Is the story finished? Not yet.

I didn’t sleep much this week (before reaching that 50K), I drank too much caffeine, I didn’t exercise like I should have and the cats started thinking the computer was attached to me.Ā  Occasionally they would run by and unplug it from either the wall or the laptop. Argh. Little brats. We have a three-day weekend, so I may have to take them for a walk to make up for it šŸ™‚

Congrats to all those who tried and finished. To those whose word count fell short, it was more than you had at the beginning of August. As for me? Well, the closer the end of the month got, the more that tiny bit of competitiveness that lives inside of me reared its head and…well I can’t really repeat here what it said. Let’s just say it would sound like Eddie Murphy Raw played during prime time. You’d get a headache from all the bleeps from the censors.

Up for September. Finish NaNo novel. Edit the first two books of the trilogy while the third one rests, then edit the third. I figure this will take me all month. Then, starting October, I can format the books for release. Still scared about that part, but also looking forward to it at the same time. I hope to reveal the covers at the end of the month. They’re basically done, but I’m holding off, not wanting to jinx the whole dang thing.

Thanks to all my August cheer leaders. You guys kept me going. And thanks to friend, co-worker and FP,TD subscriber Ye Olde Friend of a Friend who let me bounce plot ideas off of her and who ultimately unblocked my plot driver in order to reach that 50,000 word goal. Thanks!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Melanie

7 thoughts on “Somehow, I made it work…

  1. Congratulations! This was my first NaNo event and I made it to the finish line with 50,437. Next up for me is editing, I’ve never done that before either so we’ll see how it goes. Can’t wait to see your covers!

Pen your thoughts...

