Monthly Goals Update – June

1) Lose 20% of my starting weight by the end of the year. Can you say WTH? I didn’t just fall off the wagon, I’ve been lying in a ditch on the side of the trail since April.

I wasn’t quite this bad, but you get the idea.

On a positive note, I’m no higher than I was in April. Must find a way to get remotivated for this. Bleh. I hate counting points.

2) Read 100 Books. ## so far.  Last month I started stressing when I realized I wasn’t quite on track with the monthly goal to meet the yearly goal. Then I started thinking why am I stressing? I’ve probably read more books in the first five months than I did all last year? And that started the shift in gears. I’d stopped reading strictly for pleasure because I was more focused on the goal.

3) Schedule all blog posts. Slowly getting back in the groove. Scheduling over two weeks worth of posts ahead of vacation totally messed me up. I got out of my weekly groove of writing posts Sunday morning. Tuesdays was scheduled in advance. Today’s? Well, I wrote it yesterday afternoon. Better than Friday morning, right?

4) Finish editing When Love Waits. DONE – on paper. Now just need to make those changes in the document. Had a friend offer to beta read for me, so I’ll be sending it to her hopefully before the end of the weekend. After that, it’s time to query! Little nervous about that but also excited that I’m far enough to be at that point again.

5) Finish first draft of my 2011 NaNo novel. Started editing this one on paper Wednesday. Wow, can you say info dump and typos!!!! Yes, it’s that bad. I made it to page 20 and have probably x-ed out at least 2-3 pages worth of unnecessary/confusing words. Don’t worry, I won’t completely delete them. Hard lesson learned. Always start edits in a NEW, saved document. As in copy from the old doc, paste to the new, save with NEW name, close old doc. Exactly. It’s happened to me, don’t let it happen to you! 🙂

6) Edit Renaissance Wench and re-query.

Still not quite sure what to do with this story. Think the overall premise needs an overhaul. Plus it was my first EVER attempt at NaNo, so considering, it’s not that bad, just not ready for public consumption.

7) Keep up with housecleaning regularly. Not doing too bad. Got in and scrubbed the tub and actually moved pictures and washed the dust off the wall behind them. Okay, so I was rearranging the picture frames on said wall but still a pretty good house cleaning task, right? lol. I’m having to keep my desk a little cleaner since I decided to edit three books and start research for a fourth one. Crazy, right?

8) Exercise daily. Yeah, not so much. It’s just too freaking hot! I try not to complain too much about the heat. I mean, I live in So. Texas and there really are only two seasons – Summer and Not Summer. I did buy a new workout DVD and wanted to start it Wednesday, but who wants to work out on Independence Day? I have been trying to stretch a little here and there throughout the day. I’ve found it helps keep headaches and back aches at bay while stuck in an office 8 hours, 5 days a week. Less headaches, back aches and subsequent shoulder aches (hunched over keyboard at desk) makes it easier to come home and hunch over my laptop keyboard at home and get some writing done.

I will tell you, I went through a little bit of a funk this last month. I’m not sure what brought it on and it took a little while to get out of. I wonder if it was my subconscious forcing me to slow down a little and take a look at my goals and regroup. This last week I’ve felt energized and more focused with clear, obtainable goals in mind.

I hope everyone else out there has either met their goals, made a few new ones or realized they need to take a break every once in a while. Check out Nadja’s post here about taking a rest break. And Raelyn’s post here about rekindling the writing spark. They are both 100% right about needing to step away from it for a while sometimes to recharge.

Have a great weekend. I will be attending our local writer’s group meeting 😀 Can’t wait!

Melanie

7 thoughts on “Monthly Goals Update – June

  1. That editing will steal the bounce out of your step….lol. Hang in there. :} You’ve got quite a few works on the burners…that’s fantastic. A season of multiple burst releases will be worth all the toiling away at the old computer desk. I don’t know about you, but during edits, I struggle to keep up with the basics. I’m consumed.

    As for workout goals, keep going. So what you missed some days!? Today is the day to focus on. I never regret yesterday in that area. The funny things is that I exercise regularly – but in all honesty, I loathe exercise. Sure, I feel great after I do it, but the actual ‘doing’ part…eh, not so much. If you’re interested in a few great workouts that are short but extremely effective (short being the operative word….I can talk myself into exercising for short periods) I’d be happy to share.

    Have a great week, Melanie!

  2. Like a dork, I forgot to check my book numbers last night when I got home. I think I’m up to 44. If not, I’m really close. Sorry for that little glitch in my brain function. :/

  3. Thanks for the shout out )

    And you know ‘funk’ is a great word. I’m slowly coming out of mine since letting go of some of the pressures I’d placed on myself. So of course I’m asking myself why I was doing it in the first place.

    Have a fabulous weekend my friend!

Pen your thoughts...

