End of Camp :(

Only two days left of camp. While I’m sad that it’s almost over, I’m also glad it’s almost over.

I never thought the summer one would be tougher than the November session of NaNo. I guess, it takes a little more self discipline for the summer sessions because the days are longer, more people are wanting you to go places and it’s just too darn bright outside for so many hours to force yourself to sit at a desk and write.

Some how, after almost a month of sunlight, camping, swimming, and other activities, I made my goal! Official word count ended up at 50,072. I have to admit, I sort of cheated on the concept. I used the push of NaNo to finish the rewrite of a novel I started the process on back in March and then finished writing the follow up novel.

So, what did I do during camp this month? Here are a few pictures.

Wild grapes. Picked in 105 degree weather!
First ever batch of homemade salsa.
Grape and Grape Cherry Jelly

There was a lot of cheering going on, trying to encourage the other writers along on their journey. Tons of virtual cookies were eaten and fun was had all around. My cabin mates were fantastic!! Several are going to do this again in August. I’m not quite sure I’m ready for that. I thought the same thing May 27th too, and we see how that ended! 🙂

I’ve been looking forward to my treat all month. A treat I’ve been thinking about whenever I got down and didn’t feel like writing or got stuck on a scene. Last night, I met the goal and then had to run to the store today.

Ah…and no, I will NOT add a picture of me actually eating them. 😛
No generic ingredients for THIS celebration.

I hope the rest of you are enjoying the first month of summer. I hope all those in Colorado and Utah are safe and that the fires are contained sooner than later. Considering we’ve been talking camp, remember to follow all safety guidelines if you go out into the wilderness this summer. When in doubt, err on the side of caution.

I’ll be around until Saturday keeping the campfires in check and making late night chocolate treats to help fuel those starry, moonlit sprints as my cabin mates race toward the finish.

Thanks to those who cheered me on and offered encouragement over the last month!

If you would like to support the insanity of 30 days and nights of literary abandon, you can visit the camp counselors here.

I’m off to make another batch of gooey goodness.

Melanie

4 thoughts on “End of Camp :(

  1. Oh! Congrats on finishing! I didn’t dare take on June’s challenge. But I may join in Novemeber again…we’ll see.

    Great pics! I haven’t made jam in quite some years, but I do make salsa every summer. Yum!

Pen your thoughts...

