Should I do a book review?

Happy Tuesday everyone! Here we go…

source

Book reviews. Most people read them. Some are good, some are bad. Some simply bash the book while others extoll the virtues of something that probably shouldn’t have made it to the public. I’ve read fantastic books, good books, so-so books and books that made me wonder why I wasted my time.

The hubby thinks I should do a few book reviews on the novels I’ve read recently. Here’s my dilemma. How do I do it? What if the books a stinker? What if I give a bad review and others absolutely love the book I just reviewed? I really want to stay away from negativity on the blog if possible. Reading comments on other sites makes me worry that an honest book review will result in a deluge of vicious comments.

So, I’m going to ask you all what you think and I hope I get more than three or four responses to this.

1) What do YOU look for in a review?

2) Would you review books you didn’t like – for whatever reason?

3) Are you looking for honest reviews?

4) Do you read reviews on sites such as Goodreads, Amazon and Barnes & Noble before you buy a book, whether you purchase paperback, hardback or e-book?

5) Would you want a writer’s perspective, a reader’s perspective or a mixture of both?

I’m looking forward to hearing your opinions on this. I’ve been mulling this over for quite some time now. Truthfully, I’m nervous. I’m just starting out and I would hate to kill the dreams of a new writer just making their way into the industry.

Tomorrow is the last A Round of Words in 80 Days update, so look for that!

Wednesday is also the first official day of summer. Stay cool, stay hydrated 🙂

Can’t wait to see what you think!

Melanie

6 thoughts on “Should I do a book review?

  1. Hi there! I’ve just started reviewing books on Goodreads, so I thought I’d share some thoughts. 🙂

    1) What do YOU look for in a review?

    Honesty and knowledge about the book. I like to see that a person actually read the book and not the cliffnotes.

    2) Would you review books you didn’t like – for whatever reason?

    Yes — I think, in order to be fair and honest, every book must be reviewed equally. I try to stay away from being cruel. As an author, I respect that this person finished a novel and got it published, which is more than what I have accomplished. I go with what I liked/ didn’t like, and I try to stay as even as possible. If my cons have 3 major points, I try to address at least 2 or 3 points of what I did like. It’s rare that I hate a book outright and it has no redeeming qualities to it whatsoever. (If it didn’t, I’m sure I wouldn’t have finished it.)

    3) Are you looking for honest reviews?

    See above.

    4) Do you read reviews on sites such as Goodreads, Amazon and Barnes & Noble before you buy a book, whether you purchase paperback, hardback or e-book?

    I read quite a few reviews before I purchase a book nowadays. I’ll skim over the particularly mean reviews, but they usually have some point to them. I also like to read the reviews after I’ve read the book. Sometimes, I’ll find a review that points out an issue that I agree with but couldn’t put down into words.

    5) Would you want a writer’s perspective, a reader’s perspective or a mixture of both?

    Since I am both, I look for both. If I didn’t enjoy it as a reader, it’s often for the same reasons I didn’t like it as a writer, but as a writer, I can explain it better (i.e. POV issues, repeating words, really poor grammar, etc.).

    Just be honest and fair with your reviews. Some authors can be quite vindictive if they think you’re being overly critical. It will definitely bring more traffic to your blog, though.

    Best of luck, and happy writing!

    1. Thanks for the advice! I’m still on the fence about it. I guess it stems from not wanting to hurt someone else’s feelings. I appreciate your detail and honesty. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I used to do reviews on my personal blog. Mostly ones I loved or felt I could recommend. When I decided to create my author blog I also decided to avoid the minefield of reviews. The closest I get is my 3 Books posts I do every other month at the moment. I keep it simple with a what I liked and what I didn’t.

    What do YOU look for in a review? – An honest opinion. It drives me nuts when I see reviews that are obviously friends and family of the author who’s review comes across as this person can do no wrong. I always prefaced a friend review with the fact I was likely bias 🙂

    Would you review books you didn’t like – for whatever reason? – I have, though I also tried to find something I liked about the book.

    Are you looking for honest reviews? – Heck yeah, I want the good, the bad, and the ugly.

    Do you read reviews on sites such as Goodreads, Amazon and Barnes & Noble before you buy a book, whether you purchase paperback, hardback or e-book? – I trust reviews on Goodreads over Amazon, etc. but I don’t rely on them to make a purchase. A review from a friend, or someone who’s choice of reading material is similar to mine, will win out every time.

    Would you want a writer’s perspective, a reader’s perspective or a mixture of both? – As a writer, I’m always interested in the writer’s perspective. But I’m more interested in the reader’s take on a story as I’m reading for pleasure more than craft.

    Good luck with your decision 🙂

    1. Thanks Raelyn! The hubby thinks it might bring more traffic to the blog. I’ve got a few that I wouldn’t mind reviewing. I may just do it once a month. You’ve given me lots to think about 🙂

Pen your thoughts...

