1 Year of Blogging – Reflections

I knew I was getting close to the one year mark, but I had to go back to my dashboard to check the actual date. May 23, 2011.  One year of blogging. If you had asked me a year and a half ago what a blog was, I might have been able to sort of give you an answer about what it thought it might be. Exactly, I didn’t really know what it was.

Over the last year, I feel like I’ve learned a new language. Blogosphere, widgets, posts, links, dashboard, tags, RSS feed, Twitter link. Blogoversary.Widget? What??? Okay, isn’t a post one of those things that hold street lights or a stop sign? Yeah, I know what a dashboard is and I need to clean mine. Oh, wait, not the one in my car? What does RSS mean and how do I use it? I know there are a lot of others out there who are or once were in that same state of confusion.

What have I learned from this great adventure? Let me see.

1) Scheduling is a very, very good thing. When I started, I wrote when the muse struck. So posts were extremely sporadic. Never on the same day, weeks apart. Just a bad way to do it. At the beginning of the year, I came up with a schedule. Regular posts every week but not so many that my subscribers feel totally inundated with updates. I’ve seen readership steadily increase and site hits are more consistent.

2) Figuring out what to post and sticking with it. I do not feel anywhere near comfortable enough to offer strictly writing advice so I decided to do a mixture of personal and writing posts focusing more on what I’m learning during my journey than offering advice.

3) If you comment, they will come. I know, totally stolen but its the truth. When you comment on other blogs, it leaves a quick link to your blog.  If someone is interested in your comment or it resonated with them, they may come check out your blog. Make sure there’s content there for them to read (see #1) or they may not come back and be frustrated that they wasted time to check it out.

4) The Golden Rule. I have not personally encountered this yet, but I’ve seen it elsewhere on the net. Do you want positive and encouraging feedback on your blog? Then leave positive and encouraging feedback on others’ blogs. The post itself and my response to comments will hopefully set the tone of what’s acceptable on my blog. What did our parents tell us? If you don’t have something nice to say…

5) Not everyone gets my sense of humor. This is a daily battle for me. Well, not really battle. More a reality. Few people get it in person and it’s even more difficult to convey through a post. My sense of humor can be extremely morbid at times and people think I’m insensitive. I try to edit it out sometimes, but then its hard to do that because its who I am. If you read this and something comes across weird either ask me about it or ignore it. Either way, its just me.

6) I no longer feel so alone on this writing journey. And on the heels of that thought come the thought Will I ever be published? There are so many good writers out there!!! Well, I will be published when my writing is better. And reading these blogs and talking with other writers has helped me recognize my weak points, given me tips on how to make it better and introduced me to some fantastic and supportive people all around the world.

Blogging isn’t for everyone. I should be writing in my work in progress, but I also enjoy the interaction with people who frequent the blog and they’ve helped me, so I’ll keep on keeping on. 🙂 Thanks for sticking with me or joining me this past year and I hope you’ll stay for a while.

Melanie

8 thoughts on “1 Year of Blogging – Reflections

  1. I completely understand the humor thing. Sometimes I have a very dry humor, sometimes leaning toward morbid, and rarely do people get it. I read blogs like Jenny Hansen or Natalie Hartford and just love how their humor shines through.

    Fantastic post of reflections! Congrats on making it a year and here’s to many, many more!

    1. Whew! If you and a few others hadn’t commented so regularly, I may have given up! Thanks for your support and I’m so glad we got to meet up!! We forgot to take pictures 😦 But it did happen.

  2. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come
    back in the future. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your
    great job, have a nice weekend!

  3. Great reflections! These are the reasons I love blogging too, and you’re so right about the schedule – ever since I started posting on designated days, I feel so much freer.

Pen your thoughts...

