Is it May already? – ROW80 update

It’s May! My favorite month. End of the school year, summer is around the corner and it’s my birth month. All good reasons, right? lol

Here they are.

1) Write 100 words a day – minimum. All except one day. Had a good weekend on the writing front.

2) Retweet other writers’ posts on Twitter.  Not as good as I wanted to do, but I’m at least trying. Still trying to decide if it’s easier to retweet from the Twitter site or from Tweetdeck.

3) Finish When Love Waits edit/rewrite by the end of the month. I’m past 28,000 and the characters just threw a monkey wrench into the story. I’d hoped to have their first serious romantic encounter by now, but things keep happening that preclude them getting together just yet. I was able to work past the monkey wrench and the story is flying again. Really going to focus on it this week. My goal is to have this draft done in two weeks and the first 25 pages edited and sent out to a contest. Oh, and send out a query letter.

4) Comment on blogs I’m subscribed to instead of just reading them in my email. I caught up on some in the list Tuesday. I love that I can respond so easily to other WordPress bloggers comments. I did go through the Linky list last Wednesday and tried to visit people I haven’t yet. I don’t know if others are having this problem, but there have been a few blogs I’ve tried to comment on and no matter what computer I use, it will not take my comment. Don’t know if this is a security filter on their end or some other kind of glitch. Very frustrating though.

5) Finish follow up novel to When Love Waits by the end of the round.  Still on the back burner. On a positive note, I already have 18,000 words written, so it won’t be starting from scratch, it will be a finish thing. Still can’t figure out the name though.

6) Read more craft material. I still haven’t finished GMC. And a friend sent a link to a free e-book about editing. Just not enough hours in the day sometimes.

I’ve seen some fantastic goals being set and reached by all the ROW80 participants. They’ve inspired me to do better and achieve more. I’m trying to keep my goals reasonable so that I can still achieve them yet there’s some wiggle room to either let life in or be able to do even more than I have set as a goal.

You can join the ROW80 challenge at any point. If you’re curious, you can check it out here.

Here’s to another great week ROWers!

Melanie

16 thoughts on “Is it May already? – ROW80 update

  1. Hi Melanie. Your goals are just right it strikes me. The 100 words a day is enough to tickle your fancy – to get your fingers pounding, but not enough to leave you feeling like you’ve failed if 100 words is all you do. It’s a win win! And the rest is enough to stimulate but not to overwhelm. I could definitely learn from this. I always over load myself and come out of it feeling crappy!

    Re Blogger/comment issues. Blogger is a shackle around my neck right now (slight exaggeration, but you get my point) and I long to move to WordPress. Oh, if I could only find a simple way to do so. But I use DISQUS commenting which is hopefully a happy medium between both. Let me know if you ever have issues at my blog. 🙂 X

    1. Will do Shah. I haven’t seen that DISQUS. May have to check it out if it makes it easier to comment on both Blogger and Word Press. Reading others blogs I sometimes feel like I’m not trying to do enough, but this is what works for me at the moment, so I’m trying not to feel too guilty 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I like the 100 words a day goal because it often turns into more than 100. Just starting is sometimes the most difficult part.

    RT is good karma on twitter! Esp if it’s inappropriate and completely out of context lol!

  3. Great job this week! Your goals and precise and well rounded – I like that 😀 Especially since mine are sometimes overly flexible. Blogger has also been moody for me lately. I’ve actually thought my comment didn’t go through, and it went 5 times. Seems to only be Blogger though. Have a wonderful rest of the week!

  4. Great update Mel! You’re doing fantastic with your goals.

    Ref: the comments
    Is it Blogger blogs you’re having trouble with? If so, try the NAME/URL option if the blog has it. That’s the only way I can post on most Blogger blogs these days.

    Wishing you all the best for the upcoming week 🙂

Pen your thoughts...

