A-Z Post, my contribution.

Okay, I know this isn’t quite the way it’s supposed to be done, but this is how it will work for me this time around. I’ve enjoyed reading people’s posts including  Deniz‘s list of books and Vikki‘s character profiles and I wanted to (sort of) join in the fun.

My list is places I’ve visited or want to visit.

A – Alps. I’m not a skier, but I would love to visit these majestic icons of Europe. Spanning France, Monaco, Italy, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Austria, Hungary,  Slovakia, and Albania. Touching so many countries I want to visit. I might get carsick, but I want to drive along those switchback roads crisscrossing the mountains.

B – Banff National Park. Okay, two letters in and I’m starting to see a theme. Another mountainous region, this time in Canada. Located in Alberta province of Canada, this is another place I wouldn’t mind hiking and exploring. It may take a while, but I will get there eventually.

C – California. My home state. Born and mostly raised. As with any state, there are good and bad things. My favorites are the desert regions. I grew up in the Mojave Desert. I’ve also lived in Northern California in the Sierra Nevada mountains. Where I lived, the mountains, the Pacific Ocean and Death Valley were all within a three hour drive.

D – Denver. Ah, another mountain town! Home of my favorite NFL team and also one of my Alma Maters. I’ve been to Denver twice. Once to watch a football game and the second to attend my graduation. There are quite a few things to do around the area. I wouldn’t mind going back to see the stuff I missed.

E – England. I’ve wanted to go to England for as long as I can remember. Home of Duran Duran 🙂 , Buckingham Palace, Bath, The Tower of London and so much history my mind reels to comprehend it all. I would love to drive through the tiny villages, walk the streets of royalty and experience the whole Britishness, for lack of a better word. I want to ride in the Tube, put my purchases in the boot of a car and have to buy a Mac when it rains. The hubby and I actually wanted to go this year, but then we remembered the Olympics would be there. We’ll wait.

F -France. I wasn’t a fan of France growing up and I couldn’t even tell you why. Guess I identified with the Brits. I know, lame. Anyway. The older I get, I think it would be interesting. Yes, I’d like to see Paris and the Champs Elysees, the Notre Dame Cathedral, and the Louve Museum. I want to visit Normandy. I also wouldn’t mind seeing LeHavre since it’s been featured in so many of the historical romances I’ve read.

G – Germany.  A country near and dear to my heritage. Frankfurt, Berlin, Munich, the Danube River. So many places I’d like to see. I don’t even need to visit during Oktoberfest. I also want to visit Bergen-Belsen, the concentration camp where Anne Frank died. That story made such an impact on me, especially after hearing a story from my grandfather. His parents were going to send him to Czechoslovakia to spend time with his uncle and cousins. A letter came back asking them not to send him because they couldn’t guarantee his safety. The year was 1936. Frank died in 1945. Plus, hopefully the hubby can ride/drive on the Autobahn.

H – Hawai’i. On the list of future vacation spots. I’ve seen so many pictures and heard so many stories that I’ve got to go check it out. I’m not much of a beach person, but I hear Hawai’i has plenty of mountains and volcanoes to explore 🙂

I – Italy. Ah Italia.  Another part of my heritage. So many things I want to see. Tuscany, the canals of Venice, Florence, Milan, and of course Rome. The work of Da Vinci, Michaelangelo, Titian, the Romans in general. And the Vatican. Just to say I’ve been there. I also want to visit Trieste, which is listed as the residence of my great-grandparents before they sailed to Ellis Island.

J – Japan. Hubby really wants to visit here. In high school, two girls from Japan stayed with us a couple weeks over the summer. I wouldn’t mind going over there. Tokyo, Nagano and Kyoto. I have to say, I like the architecture. It’s one of those that I know I want to visit, but haven’t spent a lot of time researching yet.

K -Kenya. There are some places in Africa I wouldn’t mind visiting. A safari would be interesting, but i don’t want to do the hunting trips. It will get me to the African continent. I’d really like to see the Saharan Desert also.

L -Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch, Wales.  The name means “St. Mary’s Church in the hollow of the white hazel near the rapid whirlpool and the Church of St. Tysilio with a red cave”. Well, I’ll be in Great Britain so I want to go simply to take a picture of that sign! And Wales is supposed to be beautiful.

M – Moscow. The heart of Russia. Home to Red Square. I do know enough about Russia not to even attempt to visit during the winter. I’ve never dealt with snow and cold of that magnitude before. From Moscow, I would love to travel to St. Petersburg, home of Tchaikovsky.

N -New Zealand. My precious. Sorry, couldn’t resist. I have to admit, it’s proximity to Australia and the scenery from The Lord of the Rings trilogy is probably the best tourism promotion ever, at least for me. Another mountainous region that to me is just gorgeous.

O – Oregon. You guessed it. Blame my 13-year-old girl crush on Sean Astin. I want to see where they found One Eyed Willie’s ship. I know it’s not real, but again, pictures I’ve seen of the northern U.S. coastline are beautiful. I’ve technically been to Oregon. For a total of an hour. We drove through Grants Pass on the way to PCH. Or for non-Californians, Pacific Coast Highway No.1.

P -Pennsylvania. Loved our visit there. Gettysburg, Hershey, Philadelphia. We didn’t get to the western side of the state, but I enjoyed our visit all the same. I desperately want to get back to Gettysburg. I know we toured most of the battlefield areas and the cemetery but I feel like I missed out on so much. And I can’t explain why. I would love more time to cruise around the counties between Gettysburg and Philadelphia. While we hit the major history “hot spots” in Philly, there are a few more I’d like to see.

Q – Quebec. Like they say in South Park, “There’s no Canada like French Canada, it’s the best Canada in the land”. Well, I don’t know that because I’ve never been to any of Canada. Friends of mine went into the eastern side of Canada when they were in New York and the pictures they brought back fascinated me. Another on my list of places to go.

R – Reno, Nevada. A small mountain, old mining community in Northern Nevada. Also the closest airport to my grandparents house. Mainly known as the Biggest Little City in the World, Reno offers history of the mining boom that helped shape the western part of the country. Not too far away are Lake Tahoe, a popular ski haven, Virginia City, and Carson City-the state capital. Here again we have the meeting of mountain and desert.

S – Scotland. Blame Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series for this fascination. I want to visit Loch Ness, Inverness, Culloden battle field, Edinburgh and the Holyroodhouse, Roslyn Chapel. Okay, blame that last one on Dan Brown, but there are just as many things I want to see in Scotland as in England. This is another one on the future vacation list.

T -Texas. My home state. Texas is as diverse a state as California. Beaches, mountains, desert, with the addition of marshlands. And tons of history. It proudly boasts the distinction of being the only state in the country to have been its own nation. From 1836 to 1845 when it joined the Union. We’ve visited quite a few of the major points in the state. And we live smack in the middle of the trails taken by both Texian and Mexican soldiers during the battle for independence from Mexico.

U -Utah. More desert and mountains! Zion National Park, Park City and the Mormon Tabernacle Choir all call Utah home. I’ve lived there and visited several times. And I’ll be there for a short time (less than 24 hours) on vacation this year. I have to say, my favorite thing about Utah isn’t so much as a place as a memory. I visited my aunt for a month the summer I turned 8. She lived in Orem and I remember my cousin and I picking (read: mostly eating) cherries from the tree in the back yard and digging up night crawlers to take for bait. It was also the first time I had breakfast for dinner.

V – Vicksburg, Mississippi. Simply for the Civil War history. And its on the banks of the mighty Mississippi River. One place we’ve been close to on vacation, but didn’t have time to get to.

W – Washington, D.C. Visited the Capital in 1999. We spent three full days looking around and I would guess we only saw maybe 1/4 of what there is to see. Hubby and I saw three of the seven Smithsonian buildings, the National Archives, the Holocaust Museum, Arlington National Cemetery, the outside of the White House (we kept missing tour times), the Vietnam Memorial, the Capital, the Library of Congress, the Lincoln Memorial and a few other things. I want to go back and tour the Library of Congress. We only had time to look in and I think I left some drool on the marble railing 🙂  Now that the World War II Memorial is complete, I’d like to back and see that.

X -Xiangxiang, China.  Okay, not easy to find places starting with X. Apparently there’s a Yunmen temple there, but I couldn’t find any pictures of that particular one. Plus, I wouldn’t mind visiting China and seeing the Great Wall.

Y -Yellowstone National Park. Was on the list of places to see. That vacation go scraped for some reason I don’t remember. You would think as much time as my parents and I spent in a vehicle, we’d have made it at some point to Yellowstone. But we never did. I wouldn’t mind camping there, doing some hiking.

Z – Zanzibar.   Even I can appreciate clear blue waters. This just looks like a relaxing place to go. I doubt it’s as touristy as Hawai’i or any island in the Caribbean.

There is my list. Hope you enjoy it and sorry for the long post. Maybe next year I’ll participate the right way! 🙂

Melanie

7 thoughts on “A-Z Post, my contribution.

  1. So glad you liked my series, and yay! for Scotland and Quebec. And New Zealand and all the other places I’d like to visit… I’ve taken the train through Llanfair… before!

  2. Fabulous way to do it. LOVE IT. You and I will have to sit down one day and talk travel 🙂

    Let’s of your list, I’ve been to:
    Banff, California (born and raised in the Bay Area), Denver, England, France, Germany, Hawaii, Oregon, Reno, Washington DC, and Yellowstone.

    Astoria, Oregon…where Goonies and the first Short Circuit movie were filmed…is gorgeous, a little windy usually and often cool even in the ‘heat’ of summer.

    Ref: Japan
    Like you, I hosted a Japanese exchange student and would love to visit Japan one day. Of course, my want to travel to list is a LOT longer than my ‘if I get there great, but not planning to go’ list, LOL

    1. Mine too. Though the “want to” list is becoming longer than the “if I can” list. LOL. Definitely will have to talk travel one day! We’re gearing up for this year’s trek. Can’t WAIT!!

Pen your thoughts...

