My name in print!

I’ve been waiting impatiently to blog about this. It’s been a long process which I don’t know if I’ll have the opportunity to repeat. If I do, awesome! If not, it’s been a fantastic learning experience.

Back on February 1st, the assistant editor of a local magazine contacted me and asked if I would be interested in writing an article. It was a rough start. She set a lunch date – which she completely missed. This experience was a case of listening to my gut and giving her a second chance when others said I shouldn’t. Anyway, we met the next day and talked. Essentially, she interviewed me and I must have made a good impression.

She said I could either come up with my own idea or write the one she gave me. The one she gave me didn’t quite strike a chord with me. Then I thought about one of the teachers I’d worked with while completing my student teaching degree three and a half years ago. Several teachers made an impact on me, but for some reason her story stuck with me.

I asked if she would mind being interviewed. She was flattered I’d thought of her. I met with her one morning before school and wrote the article. And rewrote it. Then read it to the hubby and let a friend at work read it. They made small suggestions and I tweaked it once again before turning it in for the February 15th deadline. I sat on pins and needles wondering if the assistant editor liked it.

Over a week later, she contacted me and said it would definitely be in the next issue. YAY!!! Then, a few days after that, I get a frantic text asking what my plans were for the weekend. I said just writing. The assistant editor asked if I could help copy edit the magazine because the normal copy editor had a family emergency and would be out of town. They needed the articles edited by the weekend in order to start the layout.

I agreed and ended up copy editing twenty-one articles for the magazine. Insanity. It’s the first time I’ve really done anything like that. I did a little when I worked at a local newspaper over a decade ago, but it wasn’t quite the same. This felt more important because I felt it reflected on me as a writer.

I turned the articles in and waited. That all happened in February. The magazine didn’t come out until the first week of April. The asst. editor said my article would be in there, but I still wasn’t convinced. I had to see it with my own eyes. I wanted to hold that magazine in my hands and flip to the page that held my work.

Finally that day came and I was ecstatic!! My name in print for the first time as a writer! It felt good, it made me want to see my name again. And I didn’t even get paid. Not in money anyway. I got recognition as a writer, a new writing associate and the possibility of a local writer’s group. She’s been looking to start one and the two of us are going to hold a meeting and see how many people show up. It may just be us, it may be four people. We’ll see what happens. But I’ve met someone I can talk to who is serious about writing and available to meet with in person. A fantastic thing for a writer in a small town.

Here’s the link to the magazine. Check it out!! (If the link doesn’t work, I apologize. I can see the new issue on my phone, but it didn’t show on the desktop for some reason)

Melanie

13 thoughts on “My name in print!

  1. Congrats 🙂 Money or not, you got your name out there. May your successes continue. I hope your writing group takes off too. It’s great having one of those to bounce ideas/pieces off of.

  2. Congrats Melanie!! It’s always nice to receive confirmation of your abilities, even if it’s not in monetary form. Yet! 🙂

Pen your thoughts...

