ROW80 Check in

AND my 100th post!!

**throws confetti** http://www.freeppt.net/background/variations-on-a-confetti-721.htmlCan’t believe I’ve made it to the 100 post mark!!! If you would have asked me a year ago, I would have said it would take forever. Amazing what happens when you set a schedule! lol On to the check in!

1) Write 100 words a day – minimum. This went very well. Over 3000 for the week since last Wednesday. It’s amazing what happens when you don’t have easy access to the internet! LOL I know that’s less than two days of NaNo work, but it’s not NaNo! 😛

2) Retweet other writers’ posts on Twitter.  Another thing that seems to go better without internet access. I know, that doesn’t quite make sense. I’ve been checking it on my phone and retweeting from there. Another reason I’ve been on Twitter this month is Titanic. This week concluded the almost month long tweeting by The History Press of the completion of construction, sailing and sinking of the Titanic during this, the 100th anniversary of the tragedy. It was a fascinating way to bring history alive. They concluded by saying starting August 2013, they would tweet the happenings in White Chapel. Can’t wait to see how they do that one!

3) Finish When Love Waits edit/rewrite by the end of the month. Over the 19,000 word mark. Finally. Now that I’m closer to 20k, I feel like I’m making progress. Still not as far as I would like to be, but things are coming along nicely.

4) Comment on blogs I’m subscribed to instead of just reading them in my email. I’m proud of myself on this front. I’ve also noticed that traffic to the blog increased this week. Some of it is probably from being involved in ROW80, but that may not entirely be the reason. I think this was my favorite post of the weekend. Ermilia – _art: letters. Love the letter from Grammar.

5) Finish follow up novel to When Love Waits by the end of the round. Though I haven’t added any new words to this novel, it is on my mind because depending on how I end WLW, I may have to revise the beginning of the follow up. And it still needs a name.

6) Read more craft material. Reading Goal, Motivation and Conflict by Debra Dixon. Just started reading it, so no observations to report quite yet. Find link to her site I have to admit, I have high expectations for this book. So many other writers I have talked to mention this book quite often. I got lost once in a conversation started when they mentioned GMC being part of their outline and finally had to ask what they heck they were talking about. I’m amazed how so many people spread across the country use similar methods and craft books.

Hope the other ROWers had a great week. Will check in with you when I have internet access at home again.  🙂

Melanie

14 thoughts on “ROW80 Check in

  1. Fabulous week Mel! GMC is a staple craft book though I’m probably due for another cover to cover read. And congrats on 100 posts. I think mine passed with a whimper, LOL. Keep up the awesome work!

  2. How is Goal, Motivation and Conflict? I am always looking for a good craft book. I started one in the last round but unfortunately, I wasn’t as committed to it as I perhaps could have been. :~(

    Anyway – loved reading your post. Your vibe is good and the photo at the top of your blog post made me want to climb in and sit nearby. Perhaps, have a cup of tea. I am grateful I found you via Row80 today!

    1. Hi Julie! It’s good so far. Dixon has a sense of humor which makes it easier to read. I bought it directly from her sight. People on Amazon and eBay wanted upwards of $200 for a copy! I don’t think so.

      Glad you stopped by and liked the blog. I’ll let the photographer know you liked that pic. I think that’s what she was going for. She’s a friend and did a fantastic job for me. We had a lot of fun. If you saw the rest of that garden, you’d definitely be pulling up a chair! Gorgeous!! I’ll come check your blog out today.

      Thanks!
      Melanie

  3. Congrats on reaching 100 posts Melanie! I always smile when I know someone found success with a schedule….(I was born with a schedule I think…lol)
    And..’.When Love Waits’ is a great title! Keep up the writing progress. I’ll see you at next check-in…hmmm. Are you doing both weekly check ins?

    1. Thanks! No, only doing check ins on Wednesday. Didn’t feel like id have enough progress to report twice a week. Plus, I didn’t want to mess up my Sunday Hello Holidays! posts :). Glad you dropped by. BTW, loved Her Dark Baron!

Pen your thoughts...

