First tag of the 4th writing challenge!

Rachel Harrie’s 4th Platform Building Writing Challenge kicked off Monday the 20th. I was tagged by fellow Campaigner Regina. I don’t know what will be more difficult. Answering her fabulous questions or coming up with 11 of my own! I like the fact that this tag has you make up questions of your own.

But first! You have to answer the taggers questions.

1- What is your favourite writing place? My desk, now that I’ve converted the area into a more “formal” writing area.

2-What is the best thing about writing? I think the outlet it gives me. I can pour out my thoughts and feelings instead of keeping them bottled up. Plus it’s a great way to take out my frustrations. I can kill someone off and not be tried for murder! lol

3-What is your favourite quote? It’s not a quote per se, but I saw this embroidered on a pillow in a scene in Gone with the Wind. “Do not squander time. It’s the thing life is made of.”

4-Where do you get inspiration from? Everywhere. The day’s events, a conversation, a visit to a new place. I’m sometimes surprised at what my subconscious picks up and stores.

5-If you could be a historical figure, who would you be and why? That’s a tough one. There’s not one particular person I aspire to. So many have influenced me the more I learn. I can’t name just one.

6-Name you top three favourite authors. Diana Gabaldon – for giving us Jaime and Claire, Annette Blair – the author who inspired a fan to never give up on her writing, Stephen King – for introducing me to a well told story and sucking me into those worlds.

7-If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go? Scotland. Hands down.

8-Besides reading and writing, name other two pastimes hobbies. Cross stitching and crocheting.

9- Name your top three websites. Besides my email and Facebook, there are no three sites I religiously visit. I’m an all at once type person. If I’m researching a book, those are my favorite sites. Once I’m done, it’s whatever the next thing that catches my interest or I need for the next research project. I know, that’s terrible but true.

10-What advice would you give to an aspiring author? Never let anyone tell you you’re not good enough. Use their rejection to learn more instead of giving up/in. Writing is a growing craft, as in there is always something to learn. Never stop learning to make your writing better.

11- What special power would you choose to have? The power to open up the mind. Most of us use so little of our brain’s full potential. Not to turn anyone to my point of view, but just to learn how to be more, learn more, retain more.

 

After looking around the web, I see so many people have been tagged. Since people are coming to the site to check out the stories, I’m going to be a rebel. Instead of tagging specific people (we’ve already got so much to keep up with in the challenge) I invite anyone stopping by the blog to answer any (or all!) of my questions in the comments. I can’t wait to read your answers.

1. Who is your biggest writing influence?

2. What would your advice to a disillusioned author be?

3. Do you listen to music when writing? If so, what genre?

4. What hobby/activity recharges you?

5. If you wanted to write a totally different genre, what would it be and why?

6. Share a website that’s been helpful in your writing.

7. How does your environment affect your writing?

8. What was the last concert you attended?

9. What book have you read more than three times?

10. What was your favorite book as a child?

11. If you could build a library and donate all the books needed to fill it, where would it be and why?

 

2 thoughts on “First tag of the 4th writing challenge!

  1. Great answers Melanie.

    3. Do you listen to music when writing? If so, what genre? Nope. I do get inspiration from songs but don’t write with the music on.

    4. What hobby/activity recharges you? Walking the dog, knitting, cross-stitching, and of course reading 🙂

    8. What was the last concert you attended? Not counting the snippets of concert-like events during last summer’s Highland Games…I honestly can’t remember. I’ve never been a huge concert person.

    9. What book have you read more than three times? Splendor by Catherine Hart…it’s one of those books that feels like an old friend.

    10. What was your favorite book as a child? The Black Stallion series by Walter Farley is what turned me into an avid reader but A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle is the one I remember re-reading.

    The rest require a bit more thought than I’m capable of today 🙂

    1. Raelyn, I loved the Black Stallion books too. Think I read all of them, then as an adult, tried to collect all the ones I didn’t have. And I’ve reread Madeleine L’Engle several times. I have all the WIT books. Farley’s description of riding a horse bare-back kept me on a horse the first time I rode. My last concert music-wise was Coheed and Cambria. Friday we saw Jeff Dunham’s comedy show. Don’t worry about the rest! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

Pen your thoughts...

