Sticktoitiveness

I know, that’s probably not a proper word but it fits my mood this month. Last week, I started composing the update to my 2012 goals post. Looking back over the list, I wondered if I really had gotten in over my head. I made some pretty lofty goals for myself. I have never been a big resolution keeper. Usually by the end of January I’m trying to figure out which ones to get rid of inconspicuously.

That hasn’t happened yet. If anything, my motivation has kicked in to really achieve these goals I have set for myself. And as this realization dawns, I mentally kick myself. Why didn’t you do this years ago? Huh? Huh?? Well, there is no easy answer for that. Besides the fact that I gave up. I did, I let it happen. Or not happen as the case may be. Life is hard work. There are enjoyable moments for sure, but it takes work.

As does writing. I was warned from the beginning that writing would be hard work and that I’d better grow thick skin if I intended to survive in the industry. Two things have happened to me since that conversation. I’ve worked harder on my writing than possibly any other endeavor in my life and that tenacity has slowly filtered to other areas of my life.

I would not classify myself as a workaholic. Though I have been known to pull overtime if the occasion required it. I have also worked two jobs consecutively in order to pay my bills. That requires work, but leaves a person more exhausted than anything. I currently have a pretty decent job. It’s stable, good pay for the area and the environment is one of the better ones I’ve worked in. And having that stability with one job has allowed me a little extra energy to pursue my passion. When you’re exhausted, it’s easy to say, I don’t have time to do that. I need to wash clothes, not waste an hour on writing or whatever your pursuit may be. I need to spend time with my family.

I’m learning all those things can be done. Sure there are sacrifices that need to be made. I don’t watch my niece near as often as I used to.  She’s extremely mobile and can talk the ear off a deaf man. Not very conducive to writing. But I still spend time with her. I just get my writing in before her parents drop her off. Then I’m free to engage a five-year-olds energy and imagination. And I’ve accomplished my goal of writing 100 words. Two things to feel good about.

I guess what my point is, I’m learning to find the balance and what is important to me. My goals have become important to me. And by applying that sticktoitiveness to everything in my life, and not just writing, everyone around me knows these goals are important and now take them into consideration.

These past few years since I really got serious about writing have been such a growth process and experience for me. I hope it comes across in my writing and blog posts and helps someone else find what they’re passionate about. Everyone needs an outlet, you just need to find it and stick to it.

What goals or passions have you stuck to?

4 thoughts on “Sticktoitiveness

  1. This year I’m keeping a monthly list of goals–or checklist–of the things I need to do for the month. If I don’t get something done, it’s added to the top of my list for the next month.

    *gasp* I just realized what I forgot for my February list. My due dates!

Pen your thoughts...

