Starting the year out right.

Happy 2012!!! Decided I’d give everyone a chance to ease into the new year before making my appearance in your inbox (or Twitter feed). I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what I want to accomplish in 2012. And it’s going to be a busy year. All of these things are achievable – if I put my mind to it and stay committed.

In most endeavors, we’re always told it takes at least twenty-one days to make something a habit.  Well, I’m really good at those first 21 days, but even better on the 22nd day – of completely stopping an activity. Yeah, I have fantastic start up and horrible follow through.  Writing has actually helped me work through that. Need to finish a novel draft before I can edit and make it into a story worth sending out into the world.

We’re also told that if we let others know what our goals are, then we are held more accountable. So…I am putting my goals here on the blog for everyone to see. In certain cases, some, um, well, embarrassing information will be left out (for the sake of, well, me) but I will give the overview.  I’m thinking of doing quarterly updates, but we’ll see how things go. It may be less or more often depending.

(big breath in) Here goes!

1) Lose 20% of my starting weight by the end of the year. A big goal, but I can do it. I have to admit, over the last four or five years, I’ve gotten out of watching what I eat and not exercising. Part of that had to do with school, but also because I just got tired of doing it. I started Weight Watchers again. And with the new Points Plus system, I don’t think it’s going to be as difficult as I thought. It will take time to build up a new data base of my regular foods, but after that, it will be a piece of cake, er, celery. Oh, and if that isn’t bad enough? My writing calendar is one I won at the conference last year – Chocolate Temptations, with recipes. Willpower – must find some.

2) Read 100 Books. – Easy Peasy! I’m curious to see just how this is going to go. I’ve currently got 6 books on my night stand that I plan to read these next few weeks. Four are novellas, but that’s okay. I’ll let you know how it’s going at the end of the month. Raelyn, I borrowed your spreadsheet! If you’re interested, you can get it here.

3) Schedule all blog posts – that’s right, I said schedule. That means this pantser is going to have to think, in advance, about what she’s going to post. *sigh. But I think overall, it will be beneficial to my writing overall. There have been several nights I’ve been trying to write or edit and the whole time I’m thinking I really need to write a blog post. I hope scheduling them in advance will alleviate that.

4) Finish editing When Love Waits – This is my first novel that is in its bajillionth rewrite. BUT, I’ve had a Beta reader look at it and she had some great suggestions. I so want this novel to see the light of day. I’m bound and determined to get this book published – especially after a contest judge told me NFL players don’t sell books.  Why the heck not?? See, that was the last thing they should have told me.  lol

5) Finish first draft of my 2011 NaNo novel. This was the story that got hijacked on day 5 of NaNo. Being a pantser, I went with whatever the characters told me, but I’ve reached a point where research is needed and after the way I felt after NaNo was over, I thought it might be better for the novel if I stepped away for a little while. Don’t worry, I plan to finish it this year.

6) Edit Renaissance Wench and re-query. Talking to the agents at the conference really brought me to reality. Renaissance Wench was not ready, nor was I quite ready to pitch it. I was asked if the story was an inspirational romance. Whoa. Not even close and it made me realize I need to work not only on the story but also on my pitch process.

7) Keep up with housecleaning regularly. Okay, not writing related, but beneficial just the same. My dust bunnies have grown into dust warebunnies. I swear they have fangs. I’ve given myself until the end of January to really do a deep cleaning and then it will all be maintenance.

8) Exercise daily. Bleh. Yes, I know I feel better on the days when I exercise. But after sitting at a desk for eight hours and then pursing a hobby/passion/potential second career that requires hours of sitting, it’s difficult to make myself get up and just do it. (sorry Nike). But it will help with number 1 on the list and also number 7. Plus, we plan to do a rather physical vacation this year and I’d rather not have to have someone carry me out at the end of it. I want to participate.

9) Write 100 words a day. I could probably count blog posts for this, but I’m not going to. J.D. Faver www.jdfaver.com has been asking me to participate in this. I don’t think there’s a dedicated website or blog for it, just a challenge to yourself. I know there’s one out there that challenges 750 words a day, but I don’t want to stress myself out. If I write 750, even better, but I don’t want that to be the goal.

Now you know my plans and goals for the coming year. Like I said, I can achieve them all if I put my mind to it. And yes, it is all up to me. My hubby, as always, is very supportive of me. He’ll definitely let me know when I’ve slipped or when I’m doing a good job.Maybe I should get him a pair of pom poms? (j/k baby)

What are your goals for this year?

Melanie

4 thoughts on “Starting the year out right.

  1. Come jump over on the ROW80 train!!!! Trust me, they are super supportive and you have to check-in for the accountability factor. (http://aroundofwordsin80days.wordpress.com/) We just started the 1st round of the year yesterday, 1st check in is tomorrow (I only check-in on Sundays), so it is the perfect time to join up. Come on…you know you want to…

    Either way, I’m cheering you on 🙂

    PS: glad you like the spreadsheet.

    1. You know, I actually did think about it, but I figured I was doing enough life-changing things at the moment! I’ll probably jump in on round 2. That way the other things have already become (hopefully) habit by then.
      Thanks for the cheering! You’ve been a great supporter!
      Mel

Pen your thoughts...

