‘Tis time for Reflection

Last post for the Calendar Year, dear readers!

This year has been an absolute roller coaster ride for me. There were some bad moments, but hey, that’s life. There were certainly more good moments.

I’ve been thinking about this post for the last few days, trying to make sure I got the wording just right. But I’m just going to write what comes to the mind and the heart.

First – I want to thank all the wonderful writers I’ve met this year. Either in person or online. My network is growing and I’ve been very lucky in finding people who are encouraging, helpful, yet honest with their comments and critique. You’ve all helped make me a better writer and hopefully better person this year. I would love to name you all, but I just know I would forget someone, and that just won’t do. 🙂

Second – I’m so grateful my husband supported and encouraged me to go back to school. I am now the proud owner of a Bachelors and a Masters degree. Seven years ago I thought I would never be able to achieve either one of those. And I’m thinking of what I can go to school for next. (I know my husband just thought hell no! not until your loans are paid off! Love you babe!) I didn’t walk in my Bachelors ceremony because it was in Salt Lake City and I’d just been off work for three months – with no pay – finishing the degree, so it wasn’t financially feasible. But the second time around? Best experience. Wouldn’t trade it for the world. So glad my friends and family were there to share in my accomplishment.

Graduation Lunch Celebration - May 2011

 

Third – I moved into a different position at work. I have a lot of learning to do, but the reduction in stress had made me not dread going to work every day. It took almost five months to make the move, but I’m a much happier person now that the move is done.

Fourth – Over the past ten years, the only pets we’ve had are fish in the aquarium. They don’t do much, but it was nice to know I wasn’t home totally  alone when the hubby was working. This year, we’ve added two furry members to the family. I am amazed at how much more peaceful it is at home with these two purring furries walking around. They have been such a blessing to my sanity and health. I feel much calmer with them here, even when they’re using the hall and kitchen as their own personal race track. They are loads of fun and definitely keep us entertained. I look forward to many more years with these two.

Murphy and Charlie - Dec. 2011

Fifth – The chance to do as much creative writing as I have this year has just solidified the fact that I love this endeavor. I’m still learning and I hope one day to be published. If that never happens, I am grateful to have this outlet. I would continue blogging and writing simply to continue meeting fantastic people. I know I’ll never meet most of them in person, but online will do for now.

It’s been an exciting year and I hope the years only get better.

I have a good feeling going into 2012. Maybe it means I’ll be published! *fingers crossed*  If not, I’ll keep looking for the positive aspects in life and continue to improve my writing.

Next year will bring a few – hopefully interesting for my readers – changes to the blog. I’m going to finally set a schedule and I have an idea for a monthly post that I need to start researching. And, I’m excited about a guest post coming in February! 🙂 More details as we get closer.

Thanks to those who read, comment and simply lurk here on Feather Pens, Tartan Dreams. Hope you have a safe, happy and prosperous New Year.

SEE YOU NEXT YEAR!!!

Melanie

4 thoughts on “‘Tis time for Reflection

  1. I’m glad you like your new job better, Mel. It can be so awful when you don’t like going to work.

    And congrats on your Masters. I didn’t realize that’s what you got. I used to think I wanted to finally go back to school and get my Bachelors. Then I got into this writing thing. I’ve decided this is my new schooling.

    I love the looks of your new babies. My family has too many cat allergies for me to ever have any. *sigh*

    Happy New Year, my friend!

Pen your thoughts...

