Recap and explanation

I have a confession.  I totally forgot about writing anything for the third campaign challenge.  I looked at it, thought about it. Then completely lost track of time. Which has been the case for everything lately.  I feel like I don’t have enough time. I bet that’s the case with just about everyone out there. So the recap portion of the post would be that I flaked on the third challenge. I’ll have to make the rounds this weekend and vote on those that wrote their challenges.

I’m still working on edits – and I need to get them done this weekend because I have to have the first 50 pages ready to send to an agent.

I’ve got my skirt 3/4 of the way done for my Renaissance costume.  If there’s time, I’d like to finish that up this weekend also.

Tuesday starts the utter madness that is NaNoWriMo. Good thing the story is already outlined! Though last years’ work was a complete sit down at the keyboard and see what happened kind of thing. I’m looking forward to it simply because the experience helps keep me focused on writing.

Now the explanation…

Last night, I kept updating Twitter and Facebook.  We watched “How to Train Your Dragon” last night and I absolutely loved it.  Hubby and I actually ran to the store and bought it about 20 minutes after watching it.  Alexandra Sokoloff had also mentioned this movie during the conference workshop.  At the beginning, I would remember bits and pieces of what she said, but I got so sucked into the story. I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t seen it, but it is definitely worth the time. How can you lose when Gerard Butler, Craig Ferguson and Jay Baruchel are providing the voices?

But that wasn’t the main focus of my social updating. (BTW, I could hear crickets chirping. Everyone probably thought I was nuts). Hubby and I watched the new episode of Beavis and Butthead. That’s right, the boys are back on MTV and up to their old antics.  I swear, I just heard a few of you groan but hear me out.  Back in their heyday, Beavis and Butthead were loved by teens who had access to MTV and reviled by most parents.  I was one of the rare children that didn’t have MTV during their primary run. I caught up on the reruns.

Beavis and Butthead, MTV & Mike Judge

What does this have to do with anything, you ask? Well, I started watching the reruns after my mother passed away. It was a tough time in my life. I’d just lost one parent, I was unhappy in a marriage that was about to fall apart and my father broke his vow of sobriety. These two moronic teenagers were a bright spot in my day. I knew when I watched their show I was guaranteed a laugh.  Have they matured any? Not really. Do they still make fun of other shows and music videos? Yes, and it was hilarious. The humor was actually smart – even for these two clowns. It was relevant and gave me a few good old belly laughs. But it almost felt like sitting down with two old friends who had some great new stories to tell. And in a way, I owe them for starting to write.  See, a month or so after my mom passed away I realized the grief wouldn’t kill me. If I could find the humor in Beavis and Butthead, maybe there was hope for me finding the humor again in other parts of my life.  It was then I decided I wanted to try something I’d been dabbling with since junior high. It was at that dark point in my life that I started writing my first novel.

So in a way, these two old friends have come for a visit and I can truly appreciate them because I have accomplished what I set out to do when we first met.  I’ve written that book and another one. And have three others clamoring to be written. I’ve made it through the grief. Writing has become a solace, an outlet and a friend.

Next time you find yourself down or discouraged, remember what made you happy when you were younger. Revisiting those old pick-me-up techniques just might surprise you.

Have a safe and Happy Halloween everyone.

Melanie

3 thoughts on “Recap and explanation

  1. Raelyn, I’ll have to read the books. I don’t know if Alex mentions the movie on her blog/site or if she just did it at the conference.

    Donna, you’re welcome! After doing (most) of The Artist’s Way, I’ve found myself going back to those old pick-me-up’s I used to do in high school.

    Sorry it took so long to respond. Thanks for following and commenting you two 🙂

  2. I love “How to Train Your Dragon”! So much in the storytelling works wonderfully.

    Thanks for the inspiration about seeking things that have made us smile when things are down. I needed it.

  3. I’m in the same on the Campaigner Challenge…really hoping I get get by and read everyone’s pieces.

    How to Train Your Dragon is awesome. The wee beasties have been devouring the books all year and we watch the movie a lot! I’ll have to check Alexandra Sokoloff’s blog and see if there’s any mention of the movie. Love to see her notes on it.

Pen your thoughts...

